Allergy/Asthma Information Association

Highlights from the Canadian Society of Allergy and Clinical Immunology (CSACI)
Annual Meeting October 26-29, 2006 Montreal

Dr. Eric Leith, Chair, Canadian Allergy Asthma and Immunology Foundation (CAAIF)

The Royal College of Physicians and Surgeons of Canada have instituted a Maintenance of Certification (MOC) program. There are now many buzzwords including continuing professional development, CanMEDS and accredited learning activities. When one attends a scientific meeting credits may be awarded towards requirement hours to fulfill the MOC program.

However, after attending a scientific meeting with intensive information bombardment what does someone actually remember and incorporate into their practice and professional attitudes to enhance their standard of practice? After attending the recent CSACI annual meeting it is now time to reflect upon the knowledge transfer and how I may incorporate this in my practice. These are some of the outlines of the featured sessions.

The clinical and basic science trainees participated in the Thursday CSACI/AllerGen Trainee Day where the trainee oral presentation occurred and the “Immunology Platform of the Allergen Birth Cohort” was presented.

The Thursday CAAIF non-profit summit gave an opportunity for all the organizations related to allergic and immunologic diseases to share with the others their mission statements and activities over the past year. A joint project to develop answers to frequently asked questions (FAQ) document for patients and families with allergic and immunologic diseases was initiated. This will be made available to physicians' offices, support organizations and patients and families with allergic and immunologic diseases.

A Friday breakfast symposium on severe asthma discussed the indications for anti- IgE therapy in patients with difficult to control asthma who meet the criteria of atopy, positive skin tests, and measurement of elevated total IgE levels along with clinical criteria of moderate to severe asthma.

The Friday plenary session on food allergy discussed the importance of history of allergic reaction in conjunction with skin prick test size and level of specific IgE elevation in assessing peanut allergy and whether or not to consider a challenge. Challenge studies have shown that 0.1 mg seems to be the lowest subjective–symptom dose. Casual (skin, air) exposure is usually tolerated and challenge studies are reassuring. Studies have looked at measurement of peanut allergen after ingestion and different cleaning methods. There is still insufficient evidence to advise definitively about prevention of peanut allergy in relation to maternal diet during pregnancy and lactation and the young child. Potential treatments for peanut allergy include anti- IgE therapy, Chinese herbal remedies, vaccination strategies (such as modified proteins, addition of immunostimulatory sequences), oral immunotherapy and induction of high dose tolerance. It is important for physicians and health care workers to appreciate how patients and families living with anaphylaxis cope. Recommendations to help coping include reliable sources of information and meetings with families and health care providers to discuss these issues. Dietary history, dietary adequacy, use of vitamin and mineral supplements, alternate products and formulas, elimination diets, label reading and cross contamination are just some of the things that a registered dietician can offer food allergic patients and their families.

The Friday immunodeficiency plenary session reviewed the new Jeffrey Modell Canadian Immunodeficiency Network which promotes excellence in the investigation, treatment and research of immunodeficiency diseases. Wiskott- Aldridge Syndrome is a condition associated with thromboctopenia, eczema, bacterial infections, lymphomas, and autoimmune disease. There are mutations in the WASP gene resulting in cytoskeletal defects of haematopoetic stem cell derivatives. Molecular testing for primary immune deficiency can be utilized in combined T- and B- cell immunodeficiency including T- B+ SCID ( eg. JAK3 deficiency, CD 45 deficiency) and T-B- SCID (eg. RAG deficiency, CD 40 defiency, ADA deficiency). Immunoglobulin replacement therapy can be given in the outpatients intravenously or subcutaneously and now programs are looking at home administration of immunoglobulin via both intravenous and subcutaneous routes.

The Friday primary care/allied health symposium discussed sleep disorders in the pediatric population, snoring in adulthood and the public health and economic impact of sleep apnea.

The Friday lunch symposium reviewed the use of induced sputum and nitric oxide (NO) to guide treatment of airway inflammation.

The Friday plenary session on advances of autoimmune disease and immune regulation reviewed the role of tolerogenic dendritic cells as a therapeutic tool as well as the role of stem cells in allergic diseases. The genetic applications of patients with inflammatory bowel disease and the therapeutic intervention with biologics such as anti- TNF in spondyloarthritis were also reviewed.

The Saturday breakfast symposium reviewed the newer understanding of antihistamine pharmacology including Histamine 3 and Histamine 4 receptors.

The Saturday luncheon symposium was a pro/con debate on the timely escalation of maintenance therapy to achieve better asthma outcomes in relation to combination therapy and as needed add on therapy.

Saturday afternoon included the “Libation Amongst the Posters” where the abstracts that are printed in the CSACI journal were presented by the authors.

Sunday morning breakfast symposium discussed the role of rhinitis in asthma and the united airway whereby treatment of upper respiratory diseases improved the treatment of asthma.

The Sunday plenary symposium on occupational allergy reviewed occupational asthma in relation to research on induced sputum as well as the clinical applications of etiology, risk factors, diagnosis and treatment. Occupational skin diseases including irritant and allergic dermatitis and the role of patch testing these patients was discussed. The final presentation summarized the population health aspects of mould as well as the uncertainty and ongoing research in the area. Health Canada recommends to control humidity and diligently repair any water damage in residences to prevent mould growth and to clean thoroughly any mould growing in residential buildings.

It is now time to reflect on all this information and with each ongoing patient encounter reassess ongoing care in light of this knowledge transfer.

from Allergy & Asthma News, Issue 4 2006

return Return to the Activities section

| Privacy Policy | Contact Us | © AAIA, 2016
Web site maintained by Konecny Consulting Inc.

Association d'information sur l'allergie et l'asthme

Faits saillants de la Réunion annuelle de la
Société canadienne d’allergie et d’immunologie clinique (SCAIC) du 26 au 29 octobre 2006 à Montréal

Dr Eric Leith, président de la Fondation canadienne d’allergie, d’asthme et d’immunologie (FCAAI)

Le Collège royal des médecins et chirurgiens du Canada a institué un programme de Maintien du certificat qui s’articule autour de toute une terminologie, y compris la formation professionnelle continue, CanMEDS et les activités d’apprentissage approuvées.  Le programme accepte aussi les crédits de participation à une réunion scientifique qu’il comptabilise en heures à même le Maintien du certificat. 

Que retient-on exactement après avoir assisté à une réunion scientifique et avoir été bombardé d’une masse de renseignements?  Comment tout cela se retrouve-t-il incorporé à la vie professionnelle pour rehausser nos normes de pratique? Après la Réunion annuelle de la Société canadienne d’allergie et d’immunologie clinique, le temps est venu pour moi de réfléchir sur le transfert des connaissances et comment je peux les intégrer dans ma pratique.  Voici le sommaire de quelques séances principales.

Le jeudi, les stagiaires en science clinique et fondamentale ont pris part au CSACI/AllerGen Trainee Day. Ils ont pu assister à la conférence du stagiaire invité de cette journée de la SCAIC et d’AllerGen ainsi qu’à une présentation en anglais intitulée “Immunology Platform of the Allergen Birth Cohort”.

Le même jour, le Sommet des organismes sans but lucratif de la FCAAI a permis aux organismes voués à l’allergie et à l’immunologie de partager entre eux les énoncés de leur mission et leurs activités de l’année.  Ils ont aussi initié un projet conjoint de Foire aux questions sur les maladies allergiques et immunologiques à l’intention des patients et de leurs familles.  Cette liste de questions et réponses sera mise à la disposition des cabinets de médecins, des organismes de soutien ainsi que des patients et des familles affectés par les maladies allergiques et immunologiques.

Au déjeuner du vendredi, un symposium sur l’asthme grave a abordé la question du traitement anti-IgE. Il est indiqué chez les patients dont l’asthme est mal contrôlé, dans des conditions d’atopie, de tests cutanés positifs, de niveaux élevés d’IgE et qui remplissent des critères cliniques d’asthme modéré à grave.

La séance plénière du vendredi sur l’allergie alimentaire a discuté de l’importance de l’association entre les antécédents de réactions allergiques et le niveau du test par piqûre de l’élévation des IgE spécifiques lorsqu’il s’agit d’évaluer l’allergie à l’arachide et l’opportunité d’un test de provocation.  Les études sur les tests de provocation ont constaté que 0,l mg semble être la dose la plus faible pour faire ressortir les symptômes subjectifs.  L’exposition occasionnelle (cutanée, air) est habituellement tolérée et les études sur les tests de provocation sont rassurantes.  D’autres études ont mesuré la quantité d’allergène de l’arachide après l’ingestion et diverses méthodes de nettoyage.  Par ailleurs, il y a insuffisance de preuve pour fournir des conseils de prévention contre l’allergie à l’arachide chez les femmes enceintes ou qui allaitent et leur jeune enfant.  Les traitements potentiels contre l’allergie à l’arachide incluent le traitement anti-IgE, les remèdes chinois à base de plantes médicinales, les stratégies de vaccination (comme les protéines modifiées  ou l’ajout de séquences immunostimulantes), l’immunothérapie orale et l’induction de tolérance à des doses élevés.  Il importe que les médecins et les travailleurs de la santé comprennent bien comment les patients et leurs familles composent avec l’anaphylaxie.  Des sources fiables d’information ainsi que des rencontres entre les familles et les fournisseurs de soins de santé pour discuter de la question font partie des recommandations. Enfin, le mode et la justesse de l’alimentation, les suppléments vitaminiques et minéraux, les produits et les préparations de substitution, les régimes d’élimination, la lecture des étiquettes et la contamination croisée ne sont que quelques-unes des choses qu’un diététiste autorisé peut offrir aux patients ayant des allergies alimentaires et à leur famille.

La séance plénière du vendredi sur l’immunodéficience a porté sur le nouveau Réseau canadien Jeffrey Modell de l’immunodéficience qui encourage l’excellence en matière d’investigation, de traitement et de recherche visant les problèmes de santé liés à l’immunodéficience primaire.  Le syndrome de Wiskott-Aldrich est une affection associée à la thrombocytopénie, l’eczéma, les infections bactériennes, les lymphomes et la maladie auto-immune. Des mutations du gène WASP entraînent des anomalies cytosquelettiques dans les cellules souches hématopoïétiques dérivées. L’analyse moléculaire du déficit immunitaire primaire peut être utilisée dans les cas d’immunodéficience combinée des lymphocytes T et B, y compris : SCID T-B+ (p. ex., déficit en JAK3, en CD45) et SCID T-B- (p. ex., déficit en déficit en RAG, en CD40, en ADA). Les patients externes peuvent recevoir un traitement de substitution d’immunoglobine administrées par voie intraveineuse ou sous-cutanée. Certains programmes s’intéressent maintenant à voir administrer ce traitement à la maison, aussi bien par voie intraveineuse que sous-cutanée.

Le symposium du vendredi sur les soins primaires, ou services paramédicaux, a traité des troubles du sommeil dans la population pédiatrique, de ronflement chez l’adulte ainsi que des incidences de l’apnée du sommeil sur la santé publique et l’économie.

Le symposium de l’heure du dîner a fait un compte rendu de l’utilisation d’expectorations induites et d’oxyde nitrique (NO) exhalé comme guide de traitement de l’inflammation dans les voies aériennes.

Une autre plénière du vendredi sur les progrès de l’auto-immunité et de l’immunorégulation s’est intéressée aux cellules dendritiques tolérogéniques comme outil de traitement ainsi qu’au rôle des cellules souches dans les maladies allergiques.  Les applications génétiques chez le patient d’une maladie intestinale inflammatoire et l’intervention des produits biologiques, comme les anti-TNF dans le traitement de la spondylarthrite, ont aussi été passées en revue.

Au déjeuner du samedi, le symposium a fait état d’une nouvelle compréhension de la pharmacologie des anti-histaminiques, dont les récepteurs H3 et H4 de l’histamine.

Le symposium du dîner du samedi offrait un débat pour ou contre la montée en flèche du traitement d’entretien pour obtenir une meilleure maîtrise de l’asthme par rapport à la polythérapie et au traitement d’appoint.

Le samedi après-midi comportait une séance de libations devant les présentations par affichage. Des auteurs y ont présenté le résumé de leurs articles parus dans la revue de la SCAIC.

Au déjeuner du dimanche, on a eu droit à un symposium sur le rôle de la rhinite dans l’asthme et les voies aériennes supérieures et inférieures alors que le traitement des maladies des voies aériennes supérieures améliore le traitement de l’asthme.

La séance plénière du dimanche situait l’allergie professionnelle par rapport à la recherche sur les expectorations induites et aux applications cliniques en termes d’étiologie, de facteurs de risque, de diagnostic et de traitement. Il a été question des maladies cutanées professionnelles, dont le dermatite de contact irritant et la dermatite allergique, ainsi que du rôle des tests épicutanés pour ces patients.  La présentation finale traitait des différents aspects des moisissures du point de vue de la santé publique et soulignait l’incertitude et la poursuite des recherches dans ce domaine.  Santé Canada recommande un contrôle de l’humidité et la réparation rapide de tout dégat d’eau dans les résidences afin de prévenir la croissance des moisissures et débarrasser à fond les édifices résidentiels de toute trace de celles-ci.

Il est temps maintenant de digérer toute cette information et d’y réfléchir afin qu’à chaque rencontre avec un patient on puisse réévaluer les soins en cours à la lumière de ce transfert de connaissances.

Info asthme allergies, numéro 4 2006

return Retour à la section Activités

| Politique de confidentialité | Contactez-nous | © AIAA, 2016
Site Web maintenu par Konecny Consulting Inc.