Allergy/Asthma Information Association

Ring Toss Tournament
Peanut Allergy Research Fundraiser

On June 17th, 2006, Deb and Jim LeVangie, AAIA volunteers from Afton, Nova Scotia, spearheaded a 'Washer Toss Tournament' to raise funds for peanut allergy research. The Tournament opened with the singing of O Canada by Matthew LeVangie's grade two classmates.

Matthew LeVangie with Louise Boyle who was the top fundraiser, collecting approximately $800
Matthew LeVangie with Louise Boyle who was the top fundraiser, collecting approximately $800

Deb and Jim's son Matthew, age 8, has a life-threatening allergy to peanuts and they realized how important education and awareness are in dealing daily with peanut allergy and the other allergies their son must deal with from day to day.

According to Deb LeVangie “Our son developed a peanut allergy, having his first and only anaphylactic reaction to peanuts in August, 1999 at 18 months old. Our lives changed forever on that day. Matthew saw Dr. Kapur in October of the same year and an allergy test was done to confirm, what is, a lifetime anaphylactic peanut allergy. Matthew is also allergic to cats, dogs, horses, dust mites, molds, trees, grass and tree nuts. Matthew also has asthma which is well controlled. Our son is fortunate to be with the same classmates since grade primary. He attends a “Peanut Smart” school which just this past year has made the P-4 wing peanut free. We've taught Matthew “Nowhere is completely safe, Always have your EpiPen®, Wear your MedicAlert® bracelet and Make sure all ingredients are safe before you put it in your mouth.

Matthew and Justin LeVangie with tournament winners Brian and Charlene Kelly
Matthew and Justin LeVangie with tournament winners Brian and Charlene Kelly

“Jim and I decided it was long overdue to start increasing awareness, educating and focusing a fundraiser on hopes for the future” says Deb LeVangie. “We targeted our fundraiser toward peanut allergy research. Under the wonderful guidance of Gloria Shanks, Atlantic Coordinator of the AAIA, we became the Peanut Allergy Research Team (PART). The fundraiser we chose was a Washer Toss Tournament played much like horseshoes. The glory of this game is that anyone of any age can play. The contestants at the tournament ranged in age from 10 years to 79.”

Several executive meetings were held with great support deriving from extended family members and close friends. The Afton Ball field was acquired for the tournament and after much work by these great volunteers to improve the conditions of the field the tournament plans were well on their way. Volunteers went to local businesses to request donations. Smaller gift donations went to a door prize draw. Bigger donations went to the Silent Auction.

Deb LeVangie and Ken Boyle, who raised the second highest amount of pledges, $700
Deb LeVangie and Ken Boyle, who raised the second highest amount of pledges, $700

Many other businesses donated their time and supplies free of charge including all the trophies that were given out that day were donated by a local business. Four local teens provided their services under supervision of one of the adults to run the canteen facilities and a local DJ Trevor Boudreau and his wife Crystal supplied the musical entertainment for the day.

Deb LeVangie reports that “The Peanut Allergy Research Team raised $7600.00 for peanut research and education. Jim and I ended the day with a well deserved ‘THANK YOU’ to all, as we held back our tears of joy. Special thanks to Gloria Shanks for her direction, encouragement and tremendous support. You were definitely a God-send.”

NOTE: On behalf of the Allergy/Asthma Information Association, I take this opportunity as Atlantic Coordinator to personally thank Jim and Deb LeVangie, long time members of the AAIA, for their tireless efforts put forth on a wonderful and successful fundraiser in this region. You are to be commended for the hours you and your wonderful volunteers put forth for peanut allergy research and education.

Thank you,
Gloria Shanks, AAIA Atlantic Coordinator

return Return to the Activities section

| Privacy Policy | Contact Us | © AAIA, 2009
Web site maintained by Konecny Consulting Inc.

Association d'information sur l'allergie et l'asthme

Tournoi pour la recherche - allergie à l'arachide

Le 17 juin dernier avait lieu à Afton en Nouvelle-Écosse une collecte de fonds originale pour la recherche sur l’allergie à l’arachide. Il s’agissait d’un tournoi de lancement d’anneaux, le 'Washer Toss Tournament' en anglais, animé par Deb et Jim LeVangie, deux bénévoles de l’AIAA. Le tournoi fut inauguré par deux camarades de classe de leur fils Matthew entonnant fièrement le O Canada.

Matthew LeVangie en compagnie de Louise Boyle, notre championne de la collecte de fonds avec quelque 800 $
Matthew LeVangie en compagnie de Louise Boyle, notre championne de la collecte de fonds avec quelque 800 $

Matthew, 8 ans, est gravement allergique à l’arachide. Ses parents Deb et Jim ont réalisé l’importance de l’éducation et de la sensibilisation pour composer chaque jour avec l’allergie à l’arachide et d’autres allergies comme le fait leur fils.

Voici ce qu’en dit Deb LeVangie. « Notre fils a développé une allergie à l’arachide lors de sa première et unique réaction anaphylactique. C’était en août 1999, il avait 18 mois. Ce jour-là, nos vies ont changé pour toujours. Matthew a vu le Dr Kapur la même année en octobre. Il a passé un test d’immunologie pour confirmer que, pour le restant de ses jours, il serait à risque d’anaphylaxie car il est gravement allergique à l’arachide. Il est aussi allergique aux chats, aux chiens, aux chevaux, aux acariens de la poussière, aux moisissures, aux arbres, au gazon et aux noix. Matthew est aussi atteint d’asthme qui est bien maîtrisé. Notre fils a la chance d’avoir les mêmes camarades de classe depuis qu’il a commencé l’école. Il fréquente une école sensibilisée à l’allergie à l’arachide. Dans la dernière année, l’école a même aménagé sans arachide toute son aile P-4. Nous avons enseigné à Matthew : 'Aucun endroit n’est sécuritaire.. Porte toujours ton EpiPen® et ton bracelet MedicAlert®. Assure-toi que tous les ingrédients sont sans danger avant de les porter à ta bouche.' »

Les jeunes Matthew et Justin LeVangie et les gagnants du tournoi Brian et Charlene Kelly
Les jeunes Matthew et Justin LeVangie et les gagnants du tournoi Brian et Charlene Kelly

« Jim et moi avons décidé qu’il était grand temps de mieux faire connaître les allergies, d’éduquer les gens et de nous concentrer sur une collecte de fonds pour qu’il y ait de l’espoir dans le futur », ajoute Deb LeVangie. « Nous avons ciblé notre collecte sur la recherche en matière d’allergie à l’arachide. Avec un guide merveilleux, la coordinatrice de l’AIAA Atlantique Gloria Shanks, nous sommes devenus la PART, ou Peanut Allergy Research Team. Nous avons choisi comme événement un tournoi de lancement des anneaux; cela ressemble au jeu de fers à cheval. C’est idéal parce que tout le monde peut jouer. Nous avons eu des concurrents de 10 à 79 ans. »

Plusieurs réunions de direction ont eu lieu avec beaucoup d’appui de la famille élargie et de bons amis. Le terrain de balle de Afton a été retenu pour le tournoi. Ces super bénévoles ont fait du bon travail pour améliorer le terrain en vue du tournoi puis les plans ont continué de bon train. Les bénévoles ont sollicité les entreprises locales. Les petits dons ont été mis ensemble pour le tirage d’un prix de présence. Les dons plus importants sont allés à un encan silencieux.

Deuxièmes pour la collecte de fonds, Deb LeVangie et Ken Boyle ont amassé 700 $
Deuxièmes pour la collecte de fonds, Deb LeVangie et Ken Boyle ont amassé 700 $

Plusieurs entreprises ont fait des dons en temps et en produits. Entre autres, tous les trophées distribués au tournoi ont été offerts gratuitement par une entreprise locale. Quatre jeunes ont offert leurs services, sous la surveillance d’un adulte, pour tenir la cantine. Un DJ local, Trevor Boudreau, a fourni la musique pour la journée avec sa femme Crystal.

Selon Deb LeVangie : « La PART a recueilli 7600 $ pour la recherche et l’éducation sur l’allergie à l’arachide. Jim et moi avons terminé la journée en adressant un chaleureux MERCI à tous en retenant nos larmes de joie. Un merci tout particulier à Gloria Shanks qui nous a guidés, encouragés et fourni un soutien énorme, une vraie bénédiction pour nous. »

REMARQUE : Au nom de l’Association d’information sur l’allergie et l’asthme, je profite de l’occasion pour remercier personnellement Jim et Deb LeVangie, des membres de l’AIAA de longue date. Leurs efforts inlassables ont permis d’organiser une collecte de fonds formidable et très réussie dans notre région. Vous méritez nos félicitations et notre admiration pour toutes ces heures que vous et vos super bénévoles avez consacrées en faveur de la recherche et de l’éducation sur l’allergie à l’arachide.

Très sincèrement merci!
Gloria Shanks, coordinatrice, AIAA Atlantique

return Retour à la section Activités

| Politique de confidentialité | Contactez-nous | © AIAA, 2016
Site Web maintenu par Konecny Consulting Inc.