Allergy/Asthma Information Association

Adult Asthma Consensus Guidelines Update 2003

Several sets of Canadian guidelines for the diagnosis and management of asthma have been published over the past 15 years, dealing with the initial treatment of asthma, add-on therapies in the treatment of asthma and asthma education. The 2003 update of the guidelines for adults has recently been published. Work on the update involved various stakeholders, including medical specialists and patient groups, who met for two days in Montreal, Quebec in June of 2003. The "adult" group met under the auspices of the Canadian Thoracic Society while the "paediatric" group met under the auspices of the Canadian Network for Asthma Care. (The new paediatric guidelines should be released shortly.)

These asthma guidelines are primarily directed to physicians, both specialists and general practitioners. Our purpose here is to highlight the main points so that patients and their families will be able to understand the basics of proper care. This will not only permit them to better assess their own medical care but may also improve compliance. We know that asthma is, in general, often not well controlled, so it is crucial that everyone involved with asthma, professionally or personally, be informed about the most up-to-date approach.

Highlights regarding the medical management of asthma

Treatment with inhaled corticosteroid(ICSs) should be considered early, even in patients who report asthma symptoms fewer than three times per week. The reason: the early use of ICSs was associated with better control of symptoms but, most important, a significant 44% reduction in severe exacerbations of asthma. Note: mild asthma is defined as intermittent symptoms of asthma requiring a short or fast acting beta-agonist at least twice weekly to control symptoms.

No evidence was found to support the use of combination therapy in those with mild, symptomatic asthma who have not previously been treated with ICSs.

For those patients who cannot or will not use ICSs, Leukotriene receptor antagonists (LTRAs) are an alternative. However, LTRAs used alone are less effective than low doses of ICSs.

Doses of ICSs as recommended in mild asthma are safe.

Additional recommendations were made. Of special note to patients are the importance of asthma education in adults, the need for written self-management plans for patients, and regular follow up.

Over the coming year the Canadian Network for Asthma Care will disseminate the updated guidelines throughout Canada, to physicians and the public. CNAC is dedicated to the promotion of asthma care and education in Canada with the ultimate goal of reducing illness and death caused by this common chronic condition.

More information about the updated adult guidelines can be found in the Next link will open in a new windowCanadian Respiratory Journal, Volume 11 supplement May/June 2004.

What is meant by "well controlled" asthma?

There are additional objective breathing tests that every asthmatic should have done regularly, at least 2 or 3 times a year, in the doctor's office. Proper control means:

If your asthma is not well-controlled, see your doctor! A wide variety of therapies exist and it pays to keep going back to your doctor until you reach a satisfactory level of control.

from Allergy & Asthma News, Issue 1 2005

return Return to the Information about Asthma section

| Privacy Policy | Contact Us | © AAIA, 2016
Web site maintained by Konecny Consulting Inc.

Association d'information sur l'allergie et l'asthme

Mise à jour 2003 du consensus sur l’asthme chez les adultes

Dans les 15 dernières années,  plusieurs séries de directives du consensus canadien sur le diagnostic et le traitement de l’asthme ont été publiées. Elles couvrent le traitement initial de l’asthme, les traitements d’appoint et l’éducation. La mise à jour 2003 de ces directives chez les adultes vient de paraître. Elles ont été préparées par diverses parties prenantes, des médecins spécialistes et des groupes de patients, lors d’une rencontre de deux jours à Montréal (Québec) en juin de la même année. Le groupe « adultes » s’est réuni sous les auspices de la Société canadienne de Thoracologie. Le groupe « enfants » était sous l’égide du Réseau canadien pour le traitement de l’asthme. Les nouvelles directives sur l’asthme chez les enfants devraient paraître sous peu.

Les directives sur l’asthme chez les adultes s’adressent d’abord aux médecins spécialistes et aux omnipraticiens. Notre but est d’en souligner les faits saillants afin que les patients et les membres de leurs familles comprennent en quoi consiste la base d’un traitement approprié. Cela leur permettra non seulement d’évaluer leur traitement mais aussi d’en améliorer l’observance thérapeutique.  Nous savons qu’en général l’asthme est mal maîtrisé. Il devient donc crucial que toute personne intéressée, professionnellement ou individuellement, soit bien renseignée sur la plus récente approche préconisée.

Faits saillants sur le traitement médical de l’asthme

La prise de corticosteroïdes inhalés (CI) doit être envisagée tôt dans l’évolution de la maladie, même chez les patients rapportant éprouver des symptômes moins de trois fois par semaine. La raison en est que l’utilisation précoce des CI a été associée à une meilleure maîtrise des symptômes et, surtout, à une diminition significative de 44 % d’une exacerbation grave de l’asthme. N.B. : On entend pas asthme léger, un asthme aux symptômes intermittents maîtrisés par la prise d’un agoniste ß2 à courte durée d’action ou à action rapide au moins deux fois par semaine.

Il n’existe pas de preuves à l’appui d’un traitement d’association chez les personnes ayant un asthme symptômatique léger et n’ayant jamais été traitées aux CI.

Les antagonistes des récepteurs des leucotriènes (ARLT) offrent une solution de rechange aux patients qui ne peuvent pas ou qui ne veulent pas prendre de CI. Toutefois, les ARLT en monothérapie sont moins efficaces que les CI pris à faible dose.

Les doses de CI prescrites pour un asthme léger sont sans danger.

Entre autres recommandations faites également, soulignons l’importance pour les patients de l’éducation sur l’asthme chez les adultes, des plans d’action pour l’autogestion et d’un suivi médical régulier.

Au cours de cette année, la Réseau canadien pour le traitement de l’asthme (RCTA) disséminera  la mise à jour des directives dans le milieu médical et dans le grand public partout au Canada. Le RCTA a pour mission de promouvoir le traitement de l’asthme et l’éducation des personnes asthmatiques au Canada dans le but de réduire la mortalité et la morbidité causées par cette maladie.

On trouvera plus de renseignements à ce sujet dans le supplément de mai/juin du Volume II du Canadian Respiratory Journal.

Qu’entend-t-on par  « asthme bien maîtrisé » ?

Il y a d’autres tests respiratoires de mesures objectives que chaque personne asthmatique doit passer régulièrement, au moins deux à trois fois par année, au cabinet de son médecin. Une maîtrise acceptable signifie :

Si votre asthme est mal maîtrisé, consultez votre médecin ! Il existe toute une gamme de traitements. Il vaut la peine de retourner voir votre médecin jusqu’à ce que vous ayez atteint un niveau de maîtrise satisfaisant.

Info asthme allergies, numéro 1 2005

return Retour à la section de l'information sur l'asthme

| Politique de confidentialité | Contactez-nous | © AIAA, 2016
Site Web maintenu par Konecny Consulting Inc.