Allergy/Asthma Information Association

Allergic Rhinitis

By Dr. Harold Kim, Kitchener, Ontario

Introduction

Rhinitis, nasal inflammation, is a common disorder that occurs in up to 40% of the population. Allergic rhinitis is a specific type of rhinitis that results from IgE-mediated inflammation of the nasal lining. Approximately 10% to 15% of the population suffers from this condition.

Traditionally, allergic rhinitis has been divided into seasonal and perennial variations – but many patients suffer from both. Recently, comprehensive guidelines for the diagnosis and treatment of allergic rhinitis have been published and widely accepted by the medical community. In this article we will discuss allergic rhinitis with a particular focus on the treatment.

Diagnosis

Typically, the patient will present with nasal congestion, runniness, sneezing and/or nasal itchiness. Allergic rhinitis sufferers often report a positive family history of allergy. Patients typically volunteer that their symptoms are worse during particular times of the year, or following exposure to specific allergens. The seasonal variation of symptoms will depend on the most common allergens in a particular geographic area, and the specific allergens to which the patient has become sensitive. Within Canada, there is great variation in allergens. Generally, trees pollinate in the spring, grasses in the early summer and ragweed in the late summer and fall. Mold allergens can be present outdoors whenever there is incomplete snow cover. Indoor allergens, such as dust mites and pets, are present throughout the year.

Patients are classified as having moderate/severe symptoms if their rhinitis impacts sleep, if it affects activities of daily living such as school or work, or if the symptoms are generally bothersome. It is important to classify the severity of symptoms in allergic rhinitis, as symptom severity will guide the treatment for individual patients.

Allergy testing is the most effective method available to confirm that underlying allergies causes a patient’s rhinitis. With skin testing, specific allergens can be identified and subsequently avoided. As well, test results will guide allergists in the prescribing of allergen immunotherapy, should it be required later.

Often, we see patients who display symptoms of rhinitis, including nasal congestion, sneezing, sinus pressure or nasal runniness, but who have negative allergy test results. Typically, we classify these patients as having non-allergic rhinitis. A complete discussion on this topic is beyond the scope of this article.

It should be noted that many ‘alternative care’ practitioners perform unusual and scientifically invalid forms of allergy testing. We recommend that patients be discouraged from having these tests performed. Such practitioners often suggest that foods or other unusual allergens are a cause of rhinitis, but it is well established that food allergy is a rare cause of allergic rhinitis. Any results from these types of tests should not be accepted, and a proper allergy assessment should be attained.

Treatment

Generally, the first line of treatment in allergic rhinitis is the avoidance of relevant allergens, although this intervention may not be effective for all patients. This is especially true for those who, all too commonly, are not compliant with recommended avoidance measures.

Medical Therapy

Oral antihistamines are the first line medication treatment for allergic rhinitis. More recently, all treatment guidelines have recommended against the use of the older, sedating antihistamines. Their impact on the worsening of sedation and performance of daily tasks has been shown to be significant and potentially dangerous. The newer second-generation antihistamines, lacking sedative properties, are the recommended choice for patients requiring antihistamines. Some of the newer antihistamines have a significant impact on congestion – an effect that was lacking in older medications. The non-sedating antihistamines, with once-per-day dosing, include Aerius (desloratadine), Allegra (fexofenadine) and Claritin (loratadine). If these antihistamines are not effective, then another option is Reactine (cetirizine).

The nasal corticosteroids have been recommended as the second-line treatment for patients with mild allergic rhinitis. They are, however, first-line options for addressing moderate/severe symptoms. These medications, often felt to be the most potent choices available to practitioners, act by affecting the inflammation brought about by allergy. When these medications are used regularly and correctly, the inflammation of allergy can be repaired. The nasal corticosteroids available in Canada include Avamys (fluticasone furoate), Beconase (beclomethasone), Flonase (fluticasone proprionate), Nasacort (triamcinolone acetonide), Nasonex (mometasone furoate), Omnaris (ciclesonide), Rhinalar (flunisolide) and Rhinocort (budesonide).

The nasal corticosteroids are superior to the oral antihistamines in the treatment of allergic rhinitis. Even with regards to allergy of the eye (conjunctivitis), the nasal corticosteroids were found to be as effective as antihistamines. The advantage of nasal corticosteroids over antihistamines is particularly important in perennial rhinitis, where most patients have moderate/severe nasal congestion. In these patients, the nasal corticosteroids should be the main treatment.

The nasal corticosteroids have few adverse effects, but they can cause nasal irritation and nose bleeds. Nosebleed rates for the nasal corticosteroids available in Canada are estimated to be between 10% and 20%. There has been one well-designed study showing that intranasal beclomethasone, but not other corticosteroids, may slow growth in children compared to placebo.

Finally, the sensory attributes of a nasal corticosteroid may have an impact on compliance. Generally, a product that has less smell and irritant sensation will be better tolerated, leading to improved patient outcomes.

Figure 1 A Simple Treatment Algorithm Allergic Rhinitis
Figure 1 A Simple Treatment Algorithm Allergic Rhinitis.
Treatments can be used individually or in any combination.

Leukotriene Receptor Antagonists

The leukotriene receptor antagonists (LTRAs) are also effective in the treatment of allergic rhinitis. In Canada, Singulair (montelukast) is the only LTRA that is indicated for seasonal allergic rhinitis in adults. This product is generally considered to be safe and well tolerated. At this time, we generally consider LTRA use only when antihistamines and/or nasal corticosteroids are not effective, or are not well tolerated.

We should note that the majority of patients with allergic rhinitis respond to medical therapy. Typically, a patient that presents to a physician’s office will have moderate or severe symptoms. Therefore, these patients usually require a nasal corticosteroid spray. If they do not respond to the nasal steroid spray, then the other therapies listed above, including antihistamines and LTRAs, can be added to the nasal corticosteroid. If the combination of medical therapy is not effective or is not tolerated, then allergen immunotherapy should be considered. We have outlined a proposed therapeutic approach to the treatment of allergic rhinitis in Figure 1.

Allergen Immunotherapy

Allergen immunotherapy has been available for the treatment of allergic rhinitis, conjunctivitis and asthma for almost a century. Essentially, allergen immunotherapy involves the injections of the patient’s relevant allergens in increasing doses, leading to a gradual change in the patient’s immune response to them. Generally, immunotherapy pushes the immune response away from allergy.

There are several well-designed studies that suggest this treatment is effective in both seasonal and perennial allergic rhinitis. Typically, the immunotherapy is given in a perennial, year-round fashion. These injections are given for three to five years, after which there is a prolonged protective effect for many patients. There are some preparations of pre-seasonal immunotherapy available. Also, there may be some sublingual or swallowed preparations of immunotherapy coming to the Canadian market over the next few years.

Only physicians who are adequately trained in the treatment of allergy should prescribe immunotherapy. There are important risks with the injection of allergen immunotherapy, including anaphylactic reactions. Therefore, injections should be given in a medical clinic where a physician is available to treat possible life-threatening anaphylaxis. As with allergy testing, it should be noted that many alternative care practitioners in Canada practice unusual and ineffective forms of ‘immunotherapy’. Patients should be discouraged from receiving these types of treatment.

Summary

Allergic rhinitis is a common disorder that often starts in childhood and can persist through the adult years. The diagnosis and treatment of this condition is relatively straightforward – if there is a high degree of suspicion, most patients will be diagnosed appropriately. Once the severity of their condition is assessed, treatment can be prescribed. The treatments available to us are effective and, generally, safe. The nasal corticosteroids are the recommended treatments for moderate/severe allergic rhinitis.

from Allergy & Asthma News, Issue 2 2008

return Return to the Information about Allergy section

| Privacy Policy | Contact Us | © AAIA, 2017
Web site maintained by Konecny Consulting Inc.

Association d'information sur l'allergie et l'asthme

La rhinite allergique

Dr Harold Kim, allergologue, Kitchener (Ontario)

Introduction

Le rhinite, une inflammation nasale, est un trouble répandu dans 40 % de la population. La rhinite allergique en constitue un type précis, résultat d’une inflammation des parois nasales provoquée par des IgE en réponse à un allergène. Cette affection touche de 10 à 15 % de la population environ.

Selon ses variations, on fait habituellement une distinction entre la rhinite allergique saisonnière et la rhinite allergique apériodique mais plusieurs patients souffrent des deux formes de rhinite. Des lignes directrices complètes pour le diagnostic et le traitement de la rhinite allergique ont été publiées dernièrement et bien reçues dans l’ensemble de la collectivité médicale. Nous abordons ici le sujet du point de vue du traitement.

Diagnostic

En général, un patient présentera des symptômes de congestion nasale, nez coulant, éternuement, nez qui pique. Les personnes atteintes de rhinite allergique ont souvent des antécédents familiaux d’allergie. Elles déclarent spontanément que leurs symptômes s’accentuent à certaines périodes de l’année ou lorsqu’elles sont exposées à des allergènes spécifiques. Les variations saisonnières de leurs symptômes sont dues aux allergènes les plus courants dans une région particulière et à ceux auxquels le patient est devenu sensible. Au Canada, il existe une grande variété d’allergènes. Les arbres pollinisent au printemps, les graminées au début de l’été et l’herbe à poux à la fin de l’été et à l’automne. À l’extérieur, les allergies aux moisissures se manifestent dès que la neige ne recouvre pas entièrement le sol. À l’intérieur, les allergies aux acariens de la poussière, aux animaux et à d’autres substances sont présentes l’année durant.

On classe les patients par symptômes allant de modérés à graves selon que la rhinite allergique affecte leur sommeil, leurs activités quotidiennes (p. ex., à l’école ou au travail) ou les incommodent en général. C’est important car on peut ainsi personnaliser leur traitement.

Les tests d’allergie constituent la méthode la plus efficace dont nous disposons pour confirmer les causes profondes de la rhinite chez un patient. Les tests cutanés permettent de déterminer ses allergènes spécifiques et, par conséquent, de prévenir l’exposition. Leurs résultats aident en outre les allergologues à prescrire éventuellement une immunothérapie lorsqu’elle est nécessaire.

On rencontre souvent des patients qui présentent des symptômes de rhinite, y compris congestion nasale, éternuements, pression des sinus ou écoulements du nez et, pourtant, les résultats de leurs tests d’allergie s’avèrent négatifs. Ces patients entrent habituellement dans la catégorie de la rhinite non allergique, un sujet qui dépasse le cadre de cet article.

Soulignons que plusieurs praticiens de médecine non traditionnelle réalisent des tests d’allergie insolites et sans valeur scientifique. Nous recommandons de dissuader les patients de se soumettre à ces tests. Ces praticiens attribuent souvent la rhinite à une allergie aux aliments ou à d’autres allergènes inhabituels alors qu’il a été démontré que les allergies aux aliments sont rarement cause de rhinite allergique. Il faut rejeter catégoriquement tout résultat découlant de ces tests et obtenir une évaluation conforme de ses allergies.

Traitement

En général, le traitement de première intention contre la rhinite allergique consiste à éviter l’exposition aux allergènes en question. Il se peut que cela ne fonctionne pas chez tous les patients, surtout ceux qui ne respectent pas les mesures d’évitement préconisées.

Traitement médical

Les antihistaminiques oraux sont les médicaments de première intention contre la rhinite allergique. Dernièrement encore, toutes les lignes directrices pour son traitement recommandaient plutôt des antihistaminiques à effet sédatif. Il a été démontré qu’ils avaient un effet important et potentiellement dangereux sur la sédation et sur l’accomplissement des tâches quotidiennes. Plus récents, les antihistaminiques de deuxième génération n’ont pas d’effet sédatif et sont recommandés aux patients qui doivent prendre ce type de médicaments. Certains nouveaux antihistaminiques agissent de manière significative sur la congestion, ce que les anciens médicaments ne faisaient pas. Les antihistaminiques non sédatifs à une seule dose une fois par jour sont : Aerius (desloratadine), Allegra (fexofénadine) et Claritin (loratadine). Si ceux-ci ne font pas effet, Reactine (cétirizine) constitue une autre option.

Les corticostéroïdes par voie nasale sont, pour leur part, recommandés comme traitement de deuxième ligne chez les patients souffrant d’une rhinite allergique légère. Ils constituent aussi une option de traitement de première intention pour les symptômes modérés ou graves. Ces médicaments, longtemps considérés comme les plus puissants par les praticiens, agissent sur l’inflammation provoquée par l’allergie. Leur utilisation régulière et conforme peut même réparer les effets de l’inflammation. Les corticostéroïdes par voie orale offerts au Canada sont : Avamys (furoate de fluticasone), Beconase (béclométhasone), Flonase (proprionate de fluticasone), Nasacort (acétonide de triamcinolone), Nasonex (furoate de mométasone), Omnaris (ciclésonide), Rhinalar (flunisolide) et Rhinocort (budésonide).

Les corticostéroïdes par voie nasale sont supérieurs aux antihistaminiques oraux pour le traitement de la rhinite allergique. Ils s’avèrent même efficaces pour le traitement de l’allergie de l’oeil (conjonctivite). Ils offrent un avantage particulièrement important par rapport aux antihistaminiques aux patients atteints de rhinite allergique apériodique qui souffrent de congestion nasale modérée ou grave. Dans ce cas, ils doivent constituer le traitement principal.

Les corticostéroïdes par voie nasale ont peu d’effets indésirables mais ils peuvent entraîner une irritation ou des saignements du nez. Les saignements du nez se manifestent chez 10 à 20 % des patients qui les utilisent au Canada. Une étude rigoureuse a révélé que, par rapport au placebo et tous les autres corticostéroïdes exceptés, la béclométhasone intranasale pouvait rallentir la croissance chez l’enfant.

 Enfin, il se pourrait que les attributs sensoriels des corticostéroïdes par voie nasale influencent la conformité au traitement. Habituellement, un produit moins odorant et moins irritant sera mieux toléré, ce qui aura pour effet d’améliorer les résultats d’un patient.

Figure 1 : Algorithme de traitement simple de la rhinite allergique
Figure 1 : Algorithme de traitement simple de la rhinite allergique. Traitements individuels ou en association.

Antagonistes des récepteurs des leucotriènes

Les antagonistes des récepteurs des leucotriènes (ARLT) sont aussi efficaces pour traiter la rhinite allergique. Au Canada, Singulair (montélukast) est le seul ARLT indiqué pour le traitement de la rhinite allergique saisonnière chez les adultes. Ce produit est généralement considéré comme étant sans danger et bien toléré. À l’heure actuelle, le recours à un ARLT n’est envisagé que lorsque les antihistaminiques et les corticostéroïdes par voie nasale ne s’avèrent pas efficaces ou ne sont pas bien tolérés.

Notons que la plupart des patients souffrant de rhinite allergique répondent au traitement médical. Habituellement, un patient qui vient consulter un médecin présente des symptômes modérés ou graves. Dans ce cas, il aura en général besoin d’un corticostéroïde par voie nasale. S’il ne répond pas au traitement, les autres traitements énumérés auparavant, y compris des antihistaminiques et des ARLT, pourront venir s’ajouter aux corticostéroïdes. Si ce traitement par association n’est pas non plus efficace ou n’est pas toléré, il faudra alors envisager l’immunothérapie allergène. La figure 1 décrit l’approche thérapeutique que nous proposons pour la rhinitie allergique.

Immunothérapie allergène

L’immunothérapie allergène pour la rhinite allergique, la conjonctivite et l’asthme existe depuis près de cent ans. Il s’agit essentiellement d’injecter au patient des doses de plus en plus importantes des substances allergènes pertinentes afin de transformer progressivement sa réponse immunitaire à celles-ci. Habituellement, l’immunothérapie élimine la réponse immunitaire à l’allergie.

Plusieurs études bien constituées donnent à penser que l’immunothérapie fonctionne aussi bien contre la rhinite saisonnière que la rhinite apériodique. Elle est généralement administrée à toute époque de l’année. Le traitement dure de trois à cinq ans, après quoi plusieurs patients bénéficient d’une protection prolongée. Il existe aussi des préparations d’immunothérapie avant saison et des préparations sublinguales ou à avaler en entier devraient apparaître sur le marché canadien dans les prochaines années.

L’immunothérapie ne devrait être prescrite que par un médecin possédant une formation appropriée en allergologie. L’injection de substances allergènes comporte de sérieux risques, y compris celui d’un choc anaphylactique. Toute injection doit donc être administrée dans une clinique médicale ou en présence d’un médecin prêt à intervenir en cas d’anaphylaxie pouvant être fatale. Comme pour les tests d’allergie, plusieurs praticiens de médecine non traditionnelle au Canada administrent de « l’immunothérapie » sous une forme inhabituelle et inefficace. Il faut dissuader les patients de suivre un tel traitement.

Résumé

La rhinite allergique est un trouble courant qui débute souvent à l’enfance et peut persister à l’âge adulte. Son diagnostic et son traitement sont relativement simples – les patients chez qui l’on soupçonne fortement sa présence reçoivent un diagnostic approprié. Une fois évaluée la gravité de leur état, un traitement leur est prescrit. Les traitements disponibles sont efficaces et en général sans danger. Les corticostéroïdes par voie nasale constituent le traitement recommandé en cas de rhinite modérée ou grave.

Info asthme allergies, numéro 2 2008

return Retour à la section de l'information sur l'allergie

| Politique de confidentialité | Contactez-nous | © AIAA, 2010
Site Web maintenu par Konecny Consulting Inc.