Allergy/Asthma Information Association

Are Anaphylaxis Policies in Place at Your Child's School?

By Yvonne Rousseau, AAIA BC/Yukon Regional Coordinator

I.  What to expect in September

If you are enrolling your child in school for the first time or if you have moved and are registering your child at a new school, you will be given a registration form that requests basic health information. If you indicate that your child has life-threatening allergies, you should expect to receive another form which must also be filled out for the school. This is an individual emergency care plan* for your child. It outlines what your child is allergic to, the avoidance measures needed, the symptoms of a reaction, the steps to follow should an emergency occur and information on how to contact you once the emergency steps have been followed. You may also be given a form that you must take to your family doctor or allergist for him/her to fill out and sign before returning it to the school.

If your child has been recently diagnosed with a life-threatening allergy, you must inform the school and complete the required forms. The school cannot protect your child if you do not inform them.

When moving from one school to another, the school records will be transferred but errors do occur. Do not assume the new school will be fully informed about your child’s allergy. The parent or older student must inform the new school.

If your child is now leaving elementary school to attend a middle or secondary school, again do not assume that the new school will be fully informed about your child’s medical needs. Parents or students must take the responsibility to inform the middle or secondary school where the student will be attending. Once you have done this, expect to again receive an individual emergency care plan form and a form for the doctor to fill out.

If your child is remaining in the same school and your child’s medical condition has remained the same, many schools will still require a yearly update or review of the above mentioned forms.

If you do not receive these kinds of forms from the school, it may mean that your school, school board or province/territory does not have a policy to manage life-threatening allergies at school. Talk to the principal and ask what policies are in place to protect your child.

*Note: The individual emergency care plan may have a different name in your school but the content should be much the same.

II.  What to ask for if your school does not have an anaphylaxis policy in place

School anaphylaxis plans are designed to ensure that children at risk are identified, strategies are in place to minimize the risk of accidental exposure and staff and key volunteers are trained to respond in an emergency situation.

If there is no established policy in place in your school, here are some steps to start with. First, make your principal aware of the following Web sites.

Next, inform your principal about the recently published book, Anaphylaxis in Schools and Other Settings put out by the Canadian Society of Allergy and Clinical Immunology. This book outlines the importance of a school anaphylaxis policy and the elements that need to be included in such a policy. The AAIA Regional Offices have copies of these books for sale for $15 plus shipping or talk to your Regional Coordinator and ask for information about this and other anaphylaxis resources to be mailed directly to the principal or board, etc.

Go to the above sites yourself and find an example of how to make up an individual emergency care plan for your child and take it in to the principal. Be sure to include a recent photo of your child on this form. Meet with the teacher before school starts.

Copies of your child’s emergency care plan and photo should be posted in key areas so that all staff can become familiar with and identify your child and be aware of the procedure to follow in an emergency. For example, this can be posted in the classroom, or in the teacher’s daybook, the office, the photocopy room and school cafeteria staff areas. This becomes very tricky as the child gets older and does not want everyone to know about his/her allergies. Emergency care plans must then be posted more discreetly. Having a copy of the emergency care plan in the teacher’s daybook is very important as that is the most likely place that a substitute will see it.

Ask the principal for yearly (and preferably twice a year) training for all staff. Training needs to include an overview of anaphylaxis, allergen avoidance measures, signs and symptoms of an anaphylactic reaction and a demonstration on the use of the epinephrine auto-injector as well as hands-on practice with the auto-injector training device. Encourage teachers to practice throughout the year with the trainer.

The AAIA has an excellent resource available for staff training – The Anaphylaxis Reference Kit. You can offer to do the training yourself or you can also call your Regional AAIA office to see if there is someone in your area who could go into the school and do the training. Another option is to contact your local Public Health Nurse to see if she would be able to do the staff training (where applicable).

A system needs to be set up to ensure that substitute teachers are made aware of children with anaphylaxis and their individual emergency care plans. They must also be trained in the use of the auto-injector. Bus drivers also need this information and training.

You will have to work together with the principal, teacher and/or school health nurse on how to implement strategies to reduce the risk of exposure to allergens.

In talking to the principal and teachers we suggest you avoid using phrases such as ‘peanut-free’, ‘nut-free’, ‘guarantee’ or ‘ban’ as these terms tend to be misleading and may cause the school community to react negatively. It is impossible to guarantee or ensure compliance with a food ban.

The AAIA suggests you use the term ‘allergy aware’. It is through the education of other parents, students and school staff that you will provide the second greatest measure of safety for your child. The first measure is in teaching your child some basic rules to keep safe.

It is important to communicate information about your child’s allergies to the other students and parents. Sample letters are outlined in “Anaphylaxis in Schools and Other Settings”. This of course will require the cooperation of the teacher and principal. Communication letters to other parents should indicate that while anaphylaxis has the potential to cause severe reactions and death, risks can be greatly reduced through effective cooperation and management strategies and emergency procedures.

Teaching your child’s classmates about life-threatening allergies has, for instance, produced wonderful results in that these children often go home and tell their parents that they do not want to take a food item to school because their classmate is allergic. Education is a more effective means of protecting your child than asking for a food ban.

Field trips require extra consideration and preparation when there is a child with anaphylaxis in the class, i.e. what is the likelihood of the child being exposed to their allergen, all teachers/supervisors must be aware of the allergic child and what to do in an emergency, auto-injectors must be taken and preferably with the child carrying them on his/her person. A second injection needs to be available in case it is needed. A cell phone and emergency contact numbers should be taken along.

Your child should wear a MedicAlert® bracelet or medical alert identification. This will indicate the allergies and that the child carries an auto-injector. This will greatly assist first responders or paramedics.

III.  What to ask for when advocating for a school board or provincial Anaphylaxis Policy

Even if you have obtained cooperation from the principal and teacher at your school, you may still want to see a school, school board or provincial anaphylaxis policy put in place.

Bill 3, also known as Sabrina’s Law, went into effect in Ontario on January 1, 2006. This new law addresses an important health and safety issue that deeply impacts the physical and emotional health of young children living with life-threatening allergies during their years in school. New Brunswick and Prince Edward Island have province-wide school policies for anaphylaxis. In Quebec, school nurses are required to identify children at risk and do staff training.

At the present time however, many parents in other provinces still have to struggle to get their child’s school to implement a school policy on anaphylaxis. In some provinces there is NO consistent standard to protect these children. When a family moves, the parents have to educate staff at the new school about the dangers of anaphylaxis, the importance of keeping an epinephrine auto-injector handy and the need to train all staff and teachers in the proper use of the injector. Uniform procedures would avoid much of “the stress and struggle” parents face in getting cooperation on procedures to ensure the safety of their child.

If you want to focus on a local school or school board policy, write to your school authorities. Meet with them and let them know that you want an anaphylaxis policy that includes the following eight elements. You may be able to gain the support of the Public Health Nurses. Work together with other parents who have children with anaphylaxis.

If your province or territory does not have a consistent province-wide policy, write and let your government know that you want the same protection for your children, to be provided by the provincial government, as parents in Ontario, New Brunswick and Prince Edward Island receive for their children.

Write letters to inform your government about the need for all schools to have an emergency plan in place to protect children with anaphylaxis. Anaphylaxis plans must include the following elements.

Children with anaphylaxis live with stress that is foreign to most children. These children need to feel safe in order to learn and grow emotionally. All children deserve a safe school environment.

Reference:  Anaphylaxis in Schools and Other Settings

from Allergy & Asthma News, Issue 3 2006

return Return to the Information for Schools section

| Privacy Policy | Contact Us | © AAIA, 2009
Web site maintained by Konecny Consulting Inc.

Association d'information sur l'allergie et l'asthme

Votre école a-t-elle une politique en matière d’anaphylaxie?

Yvonne Rousseau, coordinatrice, AIAA C.-B./Yukon

I.  À quoi s’attendre quand vient septembre

C’est la première année que vous inscrivez votre enfant à l’école? Vous avez déménagé et l’inscrivez dans une nouvelle école? On vous remettra un formulaire avec des questions élémentaires sur son état de santé. Si vous indiquez que votre enfant a des allergies pouvant mettre en danger sa vie, vous devez vous attendre à recevoir un autre formulaire à remplir. Il s’agira d’un plan de soins d’urgence pour votre enfant*. Il décrit ses allergies, les mesures de prévention nécessaires, les symptômes de ses réactions, les étapes à suivre pour une intervention en cas d’urgence et comment vous joindre si cela arrive. Vous pourriez aussi recevoir un autre formulaire à faire remplir et signer par votre médecin de famille ou votre allergologue puis à retourner à l’école.

Si votre enfant a reçu dernièrement un diagnostic d’allergie grave, vous devez en informer l’école et remplir les formulaires requis. L’école ne peut pas protéger votre enfant si elle n’est pas au courant.

Quand on passe d’une école à l’autre, les dossiers des élèves les suivent mais ils peuvent contenir des erreurs. Ne prenez pas pour acquis que la nouvelle école saura tout de l’allergie de votre enfant. C’est aux parents, ou à l’élève s’il est assez grand, de l’informer.

C’est la même chose si votre enfant passe du primaire au secondaire. Ne prenez rien pour acquis. Vous ou votre enfant avez la responsabilité d’informer l’école secondaire. Puis, attendez-vous à recevoir encore un formulaire sur le plan de soins d’urgence de votre enfant et un autre à faire remplir par son médecin traitant.

Si votre enfant reste au même endroit et que son état de santé n’a pas changé, plusieurs écoles exigeront quand même une mise à jour des formulaires précités chaque année.

Enfin, si l’école ne vous envoie pas ces formulaires, cela peut indiquer que celle-ci, votre commission ou conseil scolaire, votre province ou territoire n’ont pas de politique sur la gestion des allergies. Renseignez-vous auprès de la direction de l’école sur les politiques en place pour protéger votre enfant.

*N. B. : À votre école, le plan de soins d’urgence pour votre enfant peut s’appeler différemment mais le contenu sera sensiblement le même.

II.  Quoi faire si votre école ne possède pas de politique en matière d’anaphylaxie

Les plans de gestion de l’anaphylaxie à l’école visent à assurer que les enfants à risque sont identifiés, qu’il y a des stratégies pour réduire les risques d’exposition accidentelle, que le personnel et les bénévoles clés ont la formation nécessaire pour intervenir en cas d’urgence. Si votre école n’a pas une telle politique, voici des étapes à suivre pour initier le processus. Assurez-vous d’abord que la direction de l’école connaît les références et les sites Web suivants :

Ensuite, renseignez la direction au sujet du document L’anaphylaxie à l’école et dans d’autres milieux publié récemment par la Société canadienne d’allergie et d’immunologie clinique. Cet ouvrage décrit l’importance d’une politique en matière d’anaphylaxie à l’école ainsi que ses principaux éléments. Les bureaux régionaux de l’AIAA en vendent des copies à 15 $, avant frais d’expédition. Vous pouvez aussi communiquer avec votre coordinatrice régionale de l’AIAA pour vous renseigner à ce sujet et sur d’autre documentation sur l’anaphylaxie à faire envoyer directement à la direction de l’école, au conseil ou à la commission scolaire.

Visitez tous ces sites vous-même. Découvrez comment préparer un plan de soins d’urgence pour votre enfant et apportez-le à la direction de l’école. N’oubliez pas d’y inclure une photo récente de votre enfant et organisez une rencontre avec son enseignant ou son enseignante avant la rentrée.

Des copies du plan d’urgence de votre enfant et sa photo doivent être affichés dans des endroits stratégiques pour que le personnel scolaire apprenne à connaître votre enfant et la procédure à suivre pour intervenir en cas d’urgence. Citons, entre autres endroits, la classe de votre enfant, la salle des enseignants, la salle de photocopie et le coin repas des enseignants. Cela devient plus difficile quand votre enfant grandit et ne veut plus que tout le monde soit au courant de ses allergies. Son plan d’urgence doit alors être affiché plus discrètement. En conserver une copie dans le carnet de tâches de son enseignant est très important. C’est là qu’un enseignant suppléant le trouvera le plus facilement.

Demandez à la direction de voir à la formation de tout le personnel scolaire chaque année (deux fois l’an de préférence). Cette formation devra couvrir ce qu’est l’anaphylaxie dans son ensemble, les mesures de prévention, les signes et symptômes d’une réaction ainsi que comment utiliser les auto-injecteurs d’épinéphrine y compris une pratique avec des démonstrateurs. Encouragez les enseignants à se pratiquer régulièrement dans l’année avec les auto-injecteurs de démonstration.

L’AIAA offre un excellent outil pour la formation du personnel, la Trousse de référence sur l’anaphylaxie de l’AIAA. Vous pouvez vous en servir pour faire vous-même la formation ou communiquer avec votre coordinatrice régionale pour voir s’il y a un représentant ou une représentante de l’AIAA près de chez vous qui pourrait aller dispenser cette formation dans votre école. Là où cela s’applique, une autre possibilité serait de communiquer avec une infirmière en santé publique pour lui demander si elle serait prête à le faire.

Il faut aussi un système pour que les enseignants suppléants puissent savoir quels enfants sont atteints d’anaphylaxie et en quoi consistent leurs plans de soins d’urgence. Les suppléants doivent aussi avoir reçu la formation sur l’utilisation des auto-injecteurs. Il faut également que les chauffeurs d’autobus scolaires possèdent ces renseignements et cette formation.

Ensemble, vous devrez travailler avec la direction, les enseignants ou l’infirmière scolaire sur la mise en place de stratégies pour réduire le risque d’exposition aux allergènes.

Dans vos discussions avec la direction ou les enseignants, nous vous suggérons d’éviter des termes et expressions comme « sans arachide », « sans noix », « garanti sans » ou « bannir ». Ils sont parfois trompeurs et peuvent susciter une réaction négative de la part du milieu scolaire. Il est impossible de garantir ou d’assurer le respect d’une interdiction alimentaire.

L’AIAA vous propose plutôt d’utiliser « sensibilisation aux allergies ». C’est par la formation des autres parents, des autres élèves et du personnel scolaire que vous pourrez offrir à votre enfant la deuxième plus importante mesure de sécurité. La première en importance consiste à lui enseigner les régles élémentaires pour rester à l’abri du danger.

Il importe de communiquer aux autres élèves et à leurs parents les renseignements sur les allergies de votre enfant. Vous trouverez des exemples de lettres dans L’anaphylaxie à l’école et dans d’autres milieux. Il vous faudra, bien entendu, la collaboration de son enseignant et de la direction de l’école. Les lettres communiquant avec les autres parents doivent préciser que, bien que l’anaphylaxie soit potentiellement grave et fatale, on peut grandement en diminuer les risques avec de la coopération, des stratégies de gestion et des mesures d’urgence efficaces.

Par exemple, apprendre aux camarades de classe de votre enfant ce que sont les allergies pouvant être fatales produit d’excellents résultats. En rentrant à la maison, ces enfants disent souvent à leurs parents qu’ils ne veulent plus apporter tel aliment à l’école parce qu’ils ont un ami allergique. L’éducation est beaucoup plus efficace pour protéger votre enfant que de faire campagne pour l’interdiction d’un aliment.

Les excursions exigent plus d’attention et de préparation quand il y a un enfant à risque d’anaphylaxie dans la classe. Il faut évaluer la probabilité que l’enfant soit exposé à l’allergène auquel il est sensible, prévoir que tous les enseignants et surveillants soient au courant et sachent quoi faire en cas d’urgence, s’assurer qu’on emporte des auto-injecteurs, que l’enfant en ait un sur lui, prévoir une deuxième injection si nécessaire, se procurer un téléphone cellulaire et les numéros des personnes à appeler en cas d’urgence.

Votre enfant devrait porter un bracelet MedicAlert® ou une autre pièce d’identité médicale, indiquant quelles sont ses allergies et qu’il porte un auto-injecteur. Ceci aidera grandement les premiers intervenants ou les ambulanciers paramédicaux.

III.  Quoi demander si vous militez en faveur d’une politique en matière d’anaphylaxie dans votre commission ou conseil scolaire et dans votre province

Même si vous avez obtenu la collaboration de la direction et des enseignants de votre école, vous pourriez vouloir que celle-ci, votre commission ou conseil scolaire, ou votre province implantent une politique officielle en matière d’anaphylaxie.

Le projet de loi 3, également appelé Loi Sabrina, est entré en vigueur le 1er janvier 2006 en Ontario. Cette nouvelle loi vise une importante question de santé et de sécurité qui affecte profondément l’état physique et émotionnel des jeunes enfants aux prises avec des allergies graves dans leurs années d’école. Le Nouveau-Brunswick et l’Île-du-Prince-Édouard ont adopté des politiques sur l’anaphylaxie dans les écoles. Au Québec, les infirmières scolaires doivent identifier les enfants à risque et voir à la formation du personnel.

À l’heure actuelle cependant, de nombreux parents dans d’autres provinces doivent encore lutter pour faire implanter une politique sur l’anaphylaxie dans les écoles que fréquentent leurs enfants. Certaines provinces n’ont même PAS de normes uniformes pour la protection des enfants anaphylactiques. Quand une famille déménage, les parents doivent faire l’éducation de l’école sur les dangers de l’anaphylaxie, sur l’importance d’avoir un auto-injecteur d’épinéphrine à portée de la main et sur la nécessité d’enseigner à tout le personnel et aux enseignants à utiliser un auto-injecteur correctement. Des procédures uniformes préviendraient le stress et les épreuves auxquels font face les parents pour obtenir de la coopération sur les procédures qui protègeront la sécurité de leur enfant.

Si vous désirez vous concentrer sur une politique locale pour votre école, votre conseil ou commission scolaire, écrivez aux autorités compétentes. Rencontrez-les et faites-leur savoir que vous désirez qu’ils implantent une politique sur l’anaphylaxie comportant les huit points ci-dessous. Tentez d’obtenir l’appui des infirmières en santé publique. Concertez vos efforts avec d’autres parents qui ont des enfants à risque d’anaphylaxie.

Si votre province ou votre territoire ne possède pas de politique d’ensemble en la matière, écrivez à votre gouvernement que vous voulez que vos enfants bénéficient de sa part de la même protection que celle obtenue par les parents de l’Ontario, du Nouveau-Brunswick et de l’Île-du-Prince-Édouard pour leurs enfants.

Écrivez à votre gouvernement pour l’informer qu’il faut que toutes les écoles aient un plan d’urgence pour protéger les enfants à risque. Voici les principaux points à inclure dans un plan provincial ou territorial de gestion de l’anaphylaxie.

Les enfants gravement allergiques vivent un stress étranger à la plupart des autres enfants. Ils ont besoin de se sentir en sécurité pour apprendre et se développer psychologiquement. Tous les enfants méritent d’avoir un milieu scolaire qui les sécurise.

Référence :  L’anaphylaxie à l’école et dans d’autres milieux

Info asthme allergies, numéro 3 2006

return Retour à la section Écoles

| Politique de confidentialité | Contactez-nous | © AIAA, 2016
Site Web maintenu par Konecny Consulting Inc.