Allergy/Asthma Information Association

Are you allergic to cats?

The best way to deal with this allergy is to find another loving home for your pet. The alternative is to try to reduce the amount of cat allergen in the home, but this won't be nearly as effective as removing the cat.

Cat allergens are found mainly in the cat's skin and cat dander (skin flakes) tends to be deposited throughout the home, particularly in carpets, sofas, blankets, beds, etc. Cat dander is not easily removed nor is it easily avoidable as it is very light in weight. The particles can remain airborne for hours and it is also "sticky." It is well known that cat allergen is not only present in homes with cats but also present in schools and public buildings and even homes without cats.

The primary focus of measures to reduce cat allergen in a home with cats is to reduce the amount of allergen in carpets, sofas, drapes and blankets, etc. Exclude the cat from bedrooms and if possible keep it outdoors. Regular vacuum cleaning is essential to prevent accumulation of allergens (using a machine with adequate filtration, e.g., double thickness bags or HEPA filters). Vacuum carpets, mattresses and upholstery regularly.

Washing animals regularly (as often as twice weekly) removes large quantities of allergen, but this is easier said than done in the case of cats. It is unclear whether air filtration will help since it may "stir up" cat allergen leading to a higher amount circulating in the air.

If you have had contact with a cat, changing and washing your clothing will remove the allergen.

The above information is taken from an article on the WAO site by Thomas A E Platts-Mills, Asthma and Allergic Diseases Center, University VA Medical Center, Charlottesville, VA. For further information go to the WAO's Allergic Diseases Resource Center at Next link will open in a new windowwww.worldallergy.org/professional/allergic_diseases_center/allergen_avoidance/index.shtml

from Allergy & Asthma News, Issue 1 2005

return Return to the Information about Allergy section

| Privacy Policy | Contact Us | © AAIA, 2016
Web site maintained by Konecny Consulting Inc.

Association d'information sur l'allergie et l'asthme

Êtes-vous allergique aux chats ?

La meilleure façon de contrer cette allergie, c’est de trouver un autre foyer accueillant pour votre chat. Sinon, vous pouvez toujours tenter de réduire la quantité d’allergènes de chat dans votre maison. Cela sera néanmoins beaucoup moins efficace que de laisser aller votre chat.

Les allergènes du chat se trouvent surtout dans leur peau et leurs squames (pellicules). Ils ont tendance à les déposer partout dans la maison, en particulier sur les tapis, sofas, couvertures, lits, etc. Les squames d’un chat ne sont pas faciles à enlever ou à éviter ; elles sont légères et ne pèsent presque rien. Leurs particules peuvent rester suspendues dans l’air pendant des heures et sont aussi « collantes ». On connait bien la présence d’allergènes des chats non seulement dans les maisons où ils vivent mais aussi dans les écoles, les édifices publics, voire dans les maisons où il n’y a pas de chats.

Les premières mesures à prendre pour réduire la quantité des allergènes de chat à la maison consistent à se concentrer sur les tapis, sofas, tentures, couvertures, etc. Interdisez la présence du chat dans les chambres à coucher et, si possible, gardez-le à l’extérieur. Il est essentiel de passer régulièrement l’aspirateur sur les tapis, les matelas et les meubles rembourrés. Cela empêchera les allergènes de s’accumuler (utilisez un appareil avec de bons filtres, par exemple, des sacs à double épaisseur ou des filtres de type HEPA).

Laver les animaux régulièrement, jusqu’à deux fois par semaine, permet en plus d’éliminer une grande quantité d’allergènes. Avec les chats, c’est facile à dire mais difficile à faire ! Par ailleurs, il n’est pas certain que la filtration de l’air puisse aider. Elle pourrait plutôt disperser les allergènes en suspension, en augmentant d’autant leur quantité qui circule dans l’air. Enfin, si vous avez été en contact avec un chat, il suffit de changer vos vêtements et de les laver pour vous débarrasser de ses allergènes.

Les renseignements ci-dessus ont été tirés d’un article trouvé sur le site du WAO par Thomas A E Platts-Mills de l’Asthma and Allergic Diseases Center, University VA Medical Center, Charlottesville, VA. Pour plus d’information, visitez la section Allergic Diseases Resource Center du WAO à l’adresse : Le lien suivant s'ouvrira dans une nouvelle fenÍtrewww.worldallergy.org/professional/allergic_diseases_center/allergen_avoidance/index.shtml

Info asthme allergies, numéro 1 2005

return Retour à la section de l'information sur l'allergie

| Politique de confidentialité | Contactez-nous | © AIAA, 2009
Site Web maintenu par Konecny Consulting Inc.