Allergy/Asthma Information Association

Back to school with asthma & anaphylaxis

For most of us, this means returning to a normal life. We only have to prepare our clothes, dig up our notes and make sure we have all our supplies. Everything seems as it should be, ready for a successful first day in school or at the day care.

Before we settle comfortably in this back to school routine, the Allergy/Asthma Information Association says, “Stop! Haven’t you forgotten something really important?”

We’re here to remind you that all children are not the same. Some 12% dread that first day because they have asthma. Asthma is a serious chronic condition and a major cause of absenteeism. Some years, hospitalizations for asthma peak about two weeks after school starts. Asthmatic children do not look forward to classrooms or playrooms not ventilated for months, to chalk dust, to strong scents and to the viruses that are inevitably passed around at school.

What about the 2-4% of children with food allergies, many of whom are at risk of anaphylaxis? Anaphylaxis is a severe allergic reaction that can be life-threatening. To these children, going back to school or to day care does not necessarily mean returning to a normal life, since even trace amounts of an allergen can trigger a severe reaction. Several provinces, hundreds of schools and daycares across Canada have adopted special policies to help protect anaphylactic children.

Children with severe allergies have to pay attention to more than their schoolwork. We invite you to find out about their special needs and how you can create a welcoming environment for them.

You will find enclosed information about the AAIA Asthma Reference Kit and the AAIA Anaphylaxis Reference Kit. These key resources have been designed by the AAIA for parents and educators. They contain up-to-date information about asthma and anaphylaxis and can be used to educate lay audiences. Both kits have been medically reviewed by the Canadian Society of Allergy and Clinical Immunology and were funded by Health Canada. The AAIA Anaphylaxis Reference Kit is the mandatory tool for training school personnel in New Brunswick.

Start off the year by learning how to make your environment safer for allergic children. Let us be your guide. See the enclosed list of resources and order forms. Please call any of our offices if you need more information.

return Return to the Information for Schools section

| Privacy Policy | Contact Us | © AAIA, 2016
Web site maintained by Konecny Consulting Inc.

Association d'information sur l'allergie et l'asthme

La rentrée des classes avec l’asthme et l’anaphylaxie

Pour la plupart d’entre nous, la rentrée des classes veut dire reprendre une vie normale. Il n’y a qu’à préparer ses vêtements, sortir ses notes et avoir toutes ses fournitures. Tout semble aller pour le mieux. Tout est prêt pour une première journée réussie à l’école ou à la garderie. Avant de s’installer confortablement dans cette routine de la rentrée des classes, l’Association d’information sur l’allergie et l’asthme vous dit : « Arrêtez-vous ! N’avez-vous pas oublié quelque chose de très important ? »

Nous venons vous rappeler que les enfants ne sont pas tous pareils. Il y en a 12 % qui craignent cette première journée parce qu’ils souffrent d’asthme, une grave maladie chronique et une cause principale d’absentéisme. Certaines années, les taux d’hospitalisation due à l’asthme atteignent un record deux semaines après la rentrée. Les enfants asthmatiques n’ont pas hâte de retrouver des classes ou des salles de jeux qui n’ont pas été aérées depuis des mois, la poussière de la craie, les fortes odeurs et les virus qui, inévitablement, font le tour de l’école ou de la garderie.

Que penser des 2 à 4 % d'enfants qui souffrent d'allergie alimentaire, plusieurs à risque d'anaphylaxie ? Pour ceux-là, rentrer en classe ne signifie pas nécessairement reprendre une vie normale. Chez certains, la moindre trace d’un allergène peut déclencher un choc anaphylactique. Plusieurs provinces, des centaines d’écoles et de garderies partout au Canada ont adopté des politiques spéciales pour aider à protéger ces enfants anaphylactiques.

Les enfants qui souffrent d’allergies graves ont plus que leurs devoirs en tête. Renseignez-vous sur leurs besoins particuliers et sur la façon de créer un milieu environnant qui soit invitant pour eux aussi.

Nous joignons de l'information sur la Trousse de référence sur l'asthme de l'AIAA et sur la Trousse de référence sur l'anaphylaxie de l'AIAA. Ces ressources, conçues pour les parents, les enseignants et les éducateurs, comprennent de l’information à jour sur l’asthme et l’anaphylaxie pour former un public non averti. Les deux trousses ont été révisées par la Société canadienne d’allergie et d’immunologie clinique et ont bénéficié de l’appui financier de Santé Canada. La Trousse de référence sur l’anaphylaxie de l’AIAA est un outil de formation obligatoire pour tout personnel scolaire au Nouveau-Brunswick.

Commencez l’année en apprenant comment rendre votre milieu plus sécuritaire pour les enfants allergiques. Laissez-nous vous guider. Voyez la liste de ressources et les bons de commande ci-joints. Surtout, n’hésitez pas à communiquer avec nous pour de plus amples renseignements.

return Retour à la section Écoles

| Politique de confidentialité | Contactez-nous | © AIAA, 2016
Site Web maintenu par Konecny Consulting Inc.