Allergy/Asthma Information Association

Cosmetic Allergies — Is Soap Really Good for You?

By Marthe Lefebvre, Montréal, QC

The following is the first of a series of articles designed to help AAIA members better understand cosmetic allergies. We start with basic information introducing the topic and with guidelines from Health Canada to minimize potential risks.

In this country, cosmetics represent a $5.4 billion retail industry. According to Health Canada, cosmetics are made up of some 10,000 different ingredients (excluding flavours and fragrances) and it has been estimated that North American adults use, on average, seven different cosmetic products every day.

In their 2006 article titled "The great cosmetics debate", The Ottawa Citizen’s Shelley Page and Susan Allan provide their own vivid statistics based on Canadian women: "By the time the average woman grabs her morning coffee, she has spritzed, sprayed and lathered with 126 different chemicals in nine different products, everything from shampoo and hair gel to skin toner, foundation and perfume. Tweens and teenagers, just beginning a lifelong regimen, might use fewer products, while heavy-handed glamour queens will have lacquered themselves with even more chemicals."

Multiple studies, testing and reported incidents have shown that some of the chemical ingredients used in cosmetics contribute to allergic disease, including asthma. As a result, some of these products can provoke eye and skin irritations. They can also be a lung irritant and trigger asthma.

Among common cosmetics used regularly and repeatedly by a vast majority of our population, side-effects have been attributed to the following: soap, bath/shower foam, shampoo, aftershave, deodorant, facial cream, facial make-up, eye shadow, mascara, perfumes, depilatory cream, hair lacquer and nail polish.

Most people will, at one time or another, experience a mild reaction and simply switch to another product. But highly sensitive individuals may have more severe symptoms and need diagnosis to avoid life-threatening reactions.

Allergic contact dermatitis

By nature, cosmetics come in contact with the skin. Creams, shampoos, deodorants and the like, are normally designed to be absorbed by the skin, and thus can carry harmful substances into a sensitive body. Chemical allergens and irritants can then cause adverse reactions that mostly fall under what is known as allergic contact dermatitis.

Primary symptoms are eczema (dermatitis) at the areas of contact, e.g, face, lips, eyes or other parts of the body. Depending on the potency of the allergen or irritant (strong perfumes vs. mild soap) and one's sensitivity, symptoms can be triggered within minutes or hours of exposure. It may also take days, weeks or years of repeated exposure for a person to develop sensitivity and a specific allergy.

The patch test is used to confirm the diagnosis regarding a person's sensitivity to cosmetics. Some of the product is applied on a small area of skin behind the ear or on the forearm and left to dry. After 24 hours, the area is rinsed with soap and water. Redness, burning, itching or eruptions will indicate a positive reaction and confirm the diagnosis. Use of the product should be discontinued and exposure should be avoided.

The law : Mandatory ingredient labelling applies to all cosmetics, including samples.

On December 1, 2004, Health Canada published the new Cosmetic Regulations in Part II of the Canada Gazette, requiring mandatory ingredient labelling on all cosmetic products sold in Canada. As with foods, ingredient labelling should allow the Canadian public to avoid cosmetic products containing ingredients to which they may have sensitivities.

According to the Canadian Cosmetic, Toiletry and Fragrance Association (CCTFA), the leading Canadian trade association for the personal care products industry, the new requirements came into effect at the manufacturing level on November 16, 2006. Health Canada provided retailers with an additional one year period to deplete their existing inventory. This one year sell-through period ended on November 16, 2007. Therefore, consumers should now be able to see a complete list of ingredients on the packaging of all cosmetic products currently sold in Canada.

Realistically though, this is relatively new. Therefore, we can expect that it will take some time before everyone is well informed, including government officers, manufacturers and consumers, so that incidents can be prevented and everything runs properly.

Minimizing Your Risk

The following list provides Health Canada's guidelines to help minimize the risks associated with using cosmetics.

from Allergy & Asthma News, Issue 3 2008

return Return to the Information about Allergy section

| Privacy Policy | Contact Us | © AAIA, 2016
Web site maintained by Konecny Consulting Inc.

Association d'information sur l'allergie et l'asthme

Les allergies aux cosmétiques — Le savon est-il bon pour la santé ?

Marthe Lefebvre, Montréal (Québec)

Voici le premier d’une série d’articles visant à aider les membres de l’AIAA à mieux comprendre les allergies aux produits cosmétiques. Vous y trouverez de l'information de base et quelques recommandations de Santé Canada pour réduire les risques.

Au Canada, les produits cosmétiques rapportent 5,4 milliards de dollars à l’industrie du commerce de détail. Selon Santé Canada, les cosmétiques sont constitués de quelque 10 000 ingrédients différents (à l'exclusion des arômes et des parfums). On estime que les adultes nord-américains utilisent, en moyenne, sept produits cosmétiques différents chaque jour.

En 2006, dans un article en anglais intitulé "The great cosmetics debate", deux journalistes de l’Ottawa Citizen, Shelley Page et Susan Allan, ont leurs propres statistiques sur les femmes canadiennes, qui sont assez éloquentes [traduction libre] : « Au moment de prendre son premier café le matin, une femme moyenne aura aspergé, vaporisé et fait mousser sur son corps 126 substances chimiques différentes appartenant à 9 produits différents, allant du shampooing et au gel pour les cheveux jusqu’à sa lotion pour raffermir la peau, son fond de teint et son eau de toilette. Il se peut que les préadolescentes et les adolescentes, qui s’initient à ce régime pour la vie, utilisent moins de produits, mais les reines de beauté ne s’en priveront pas et s’enduiront de plus de produits chimiques pour atteindre tout leur éclat. »

Un grand nombre d'études, de tests et d’incidents déclarés ont démontré que certains ingrédients chimiques des cosmétiques contribuent effectivement aux maladies allergiques, y compris l’asthme. Certains de ces produits risquent de provoquer des irritations de l’oeil ou de la peau. Ils peuvent aussi être des irritants pulmonaires et des déclencheurs de l’asthme.

Des effets secondaires ont été attribués à des cosmétiques courants que la population utilise continuellement, comme les: savons, mousses pour bains et douches, produits après rasage, déodorants, crèmes pour le visage, fonds de teint, ombres à paupières, mascaras, crèmes de rasage, fixatifs pour les cheveux et vernis à ongles.

Un jour ou l’autre, la plupart des gens ont une légère réaction et changent simplement de produit. Il en a autrement des personnes très sensibles chez qui se manifestent des symptômes beaucoup plus graves. Il faut alors obtenir un diagnostic afin de prévenir une réaction pouvant leur être fatale.

La dermatite de contact allergique

Par définition, les cosmétiques entrent en contact avec la peau. Les crèmes, shampooings, déodorants et autres produits sont normalement conçus en fonction d’une absorption cutanée. Ils peuvent donc faire pénétrer des substances nocives dans un organisme sensible. Les allergènes et irritants de nature chimique peuvent produire des effets indésirables qui sont généralement associés à une dermatite de contact allergique.

Ses principaux symptômes sont ceux de l'eczéma (dermatite) là où il y a contact avec la peau, par exemple, au visage, aux lèvres, aux yeux ou à d’autres parties du corps. Selon la puissance de l’allergène ou de l’irritant (parfum capiteux c. savon léger) et la sensibilité de la personne, ces symptômes se déclencheront après quelques minutes ou quelques heures d’exposition. Cela peut prendre aussi des jours, des semaines ou des années d’exposition répétée avant qu’une personne ne devienne sensible et développe une allergie spécifique.

Un test cutané sert à confirmer le diagnostic de sensibilité aux cosmétiques.Pour ce faire, on applique un peu de produit sur une petite surface de peau derrière l'oreille ou sur l'avant-bras puis on laisse sécher. Après 24 heures, on lave l'endroit avec de l'eau et du savon. Une rougeur, une brûlure, des picotements ou des éruptions signalent une réaction positive et confirment le diagnostic. Dans ce cas, il faut arrêter d’utiliser le produit et éviter d’y être exposé.

La loi : Étiquetage des ingrédients obligatoire sur tous les cosmétiques, y compris les échantillons

Le 1er décembre 2004, Santé Canada a publié dans la Partie II de la Gazette du Canada le nouveau Règlement sur les cosmétiques, qui rend obligatoire l'étiquetage des ingrédients pour tous les cosmétiques vendus au Canada. Comme pour les aliments, l'étiquetage des ingrédients permettra au public canadien d'éviter des produits cosmétiques auxquels il pourrait être sensible.

D’après l’Association canadienne des cosmétiques, produits de toilette et parfums (ACCPTP) qui représente l’industrie au Canada, ces nouvelles exigences sont entrées en vigueur chez les fabricants le 16 novembre 2006. Santé Canada a accordé aux détaillants une année de transition supplémentaire afin de permettre l'épuisement des stocks achetés avant cette date. Le consommateur devrait donc voir la liste complète des ingrédients sur tout emballage de produit cosmétique maintenant vendu au Canada. En réalité, tout cela est assez récent. Il faut donc prévoir un certain temps avant que tous les intéressés, y compris les fonctionnaires, les fabricants et les consommateurs, soient bien informés pour pouvoir prévenir les accidents et que tout soit sous contrôle.

Réduire vos risques d’allergies aux cosmétiques

La liste qui suit contient des recommandations de Santé Canada afin d’aider à réduire les risques liés à l'utilisation des cosmétiques.

Info asthme allergies, numéro 3 2008

return Retour à la section de l'information sur l'allergie

| Politique de confidentialité | Contactez-nous | © AIAA, 2010
Site Web maintenu par Konecny Consulting Inc.