Allergy/Asthma Information Association

Does Allergy Protect Against Cancer?

Dr. Susan Waserman, MD, FRCP, Hamilton, Ontario

Over the years, we’ve sometimes heard that those with allergies are less likely to develop cancer, but we were not sure if this was a myth. We thank Dr. Susan Waserman for providing an opinion based on the research that has been done on this fascinating question.

What leads one person’s immune system to react to typically innocuous stimuli and another’s to overlook growth of aberrant cells is largely unknown. Asthma and cancer may reflect different programming of the immune system; the former a hyper reactive state, the later a type of immunodeficiency. Although the full complexity of the immune system is not entirely understood, the existence of different “programming” could suggest that certain individuals prone to one condition are at lower risk of developing another. In this case, allergy may protect against the development of cancer.

What is the evidence?

Although conflicting and limited, literature suggests that those with allergy have a reduced risk of developing cancer versus the general population1-8. There has been a general shift to better studies, including case-controls, multi-centered case-controls and rigorous meta-analyses, which provide stronger support for the relationship.

Wang et al performed a meta-analysis examining the link between atopic dermatitis (AD) and 6 types of cancer7. They found that history of AD decreased the risk of pancreatic, brain (glioma) and childhood leukemia (acute lymphocytic leukemia)7.

Grulich et al conducted a large (n=1398) population-based case-control study on adults 20-74 years-of-age examining birth order, atopy and the risk of non-Hodgkin’s lymphoma (NHL)2. In this study, AD did not significantly decrease the risk of NHL, but both hay fever and food allergy did2. The study is very specific, assessing the contribution of various atopic conditions (AD, hay fever, asthma, drug allergy, food allergy)2.

Possible Mechanism

The mechanism of how allergy protects against cancer is unknown, however a couple theories have been proposed. Wang et al suggested that a TH2-bias represents a hyper reactive state of the immune system, which enhances immune surveillance, decreasing the proliferation of aberrant cells7. Likewise, Zacharia et al advocates a broader role of the T¬H2/IgE system, typically described as a system designed to destroy helminthes and parasites that spills over and causes allergy. Instead, the TH2 system may in fact serve to protect against a variety of environmental carcinogens and infectious diseases, minimizing biotic and abiotic hazards in the body. A highly active TH2 system would therefore reduce the risk of cancer by increasing the removal of carcinogens.

Although interesting, further work is required, using more precise definitions of “allergy” and examining the relationship between subtypes of atopic disease and cancer, since the protective mechanism may differ by both type and severity of both allergy and cancer.


References:

  1. Cockcroft, D., Klein, G., Donevan, R. & Copland, G. Is there a negative correlation between malignancy and respiratory atopy? Ann Allergy 43, 345-7 (1979).
  2. Grulich, A. et al. Birth order, atopy, and risk of non-Hodgkin lymphoma. J Natl Cancer Inst 97, 587-94 (2005).
  3. LaVecchia, C., Negri, E., D'Avanzo, B., Boyle, P. & Franceschi, S. Medical history and primary liver cancer. Cancer Res 50, 6274-7 (1990).
  4. LaVecchia, C., D'Avanzo, B., Negri, E. & Franceschi, S. History of selected diseases and the risk of colorectal cancer. Eur J Cancer 27, 582-6 (1991).
  5. Mesquita, B.d., Maisonneuve, P., Moerman, C. & Walker, A. Aspects of medical history and exocrine carcinoma of the pancreas: a population-based case-control study in The Netherlands. In J Cancer 52, 17-23 (1992).
  6. Negri, E. et al. Allergy and other selected diseases and risk of colorectal cancer. Eur J Cancer 35, 1838-41 (1999).
  7. Wang, H. & Diepgen, T. Atopic dermatitis. British Journal of Dermatology 154, 205-210 (2005).
  8. Zacharia, B. & Sherman, P. Atopy, helminths, and cancer. Med Hypotheses 60, 1-5 (2003).

from Allergy & Asthma News, Issue 4 2006

return Return to the Information about Allergy section

| Privacy Policy | Contact Us | © AAIA, 2017
Web site maintained by Konecny Consulting Inc.

Association d'information sur l'allergie et l'asthme

L’allergie peut-elle protéger contre le cancer?

Dre Susan Waserman, MD, FRCP, Hamilton (Ontario)

Au fil des ans, on a entendu dire que les personnes allergiques sont moins susceptibles de développer un cancer mais on ne savait pas si c’était un mythe. Nous remercions Dre Susan Waserman de nous fournir ici son avis en tenant compte de l’état de la recherche sur cette fascinante question.

Nous connaissons bien mal encore ce qui amène le système immunitaire d’une personne à réagir à des stimuli typiquement inoffensifs et le système immunitaire d’une autre personne à ne pas reconnaître l’expansion de cellules aberrantes. C’est que l’asthme et le cancer pourraient correspondre à une programmation différente du système immunitaire. Dans le premier cas, on serait en présence d’hyperréactivité et, dans le second, d’une sorte d’immunodéficience. Bien que nous ne comprenions pas le système immunitaire dans toute sa complexité, l’existence même d’une « programmation » différente suggère que certaines personnes ayant une prédisposition à une affection risqueraient moins d’en développer une autre. Dans le cas qui nous préoccupe, l’allergie pourrait protéger contre le cancer.

Quels sont les éléments de preuve?

Bien que contradictoires et limités, les rapports d’études donnent à penser que les personnes allergiques bénéficient d’un risque réduit de développer un cancer comparé au risque de la population en général1-8. Un nouveau virage vers des études de meilleure qualité, qui s’appuient sur des cas-témoins, des cas-témoins multicentriques et de rigoureuses méta-analyses, vient étayer davantage cette association.

Wang et ses collaborateurs ont effectué une méta-analyse examinant le lien qui existe entre la dermatite atopique (DA) et six types de cancer7. Ils ont constaté que des antécédents de DA diminuaient le risque de cancer du pancréas, de tumeurs au cerveau (gliome) et de leucémie infantile (leucémie lymphocytique aiguë)7.

Grulish et ses collaborateurs ont mené une vaste étude (n = 1398) de cas-témoins représentatifs chez des sujets adultes de 20 à 74 ans examinant leur ordre de naissance, leur atopie et le risque de lymphone non hodginien (LNH)2. Dans cette étude, la dermatite atopique ne diminuait pas le risque de LNH mais le rhume des foins et l’allergie alimentaire le faisaient2. Cette étude a, de plus, évalué très précisément la contribution de diverses affections atopiques (DA, rhume des foins, asthme, allergies médicamenteuses, allergies alimentaires)2.

Mécanisme possible

Nous ne connaissons pas le mécanisme suivant lequel l’allergie protège contre le cancer. Deux théories ont toutefois été avancées. Wang et ses collaborateurs suggèrent qu’un biais Th2 signale une hyperréactivité du système immunitaire ce qui a pour effet d’accroître la surveillance immunitaire et de diminuer la prolifération de cellules aberrantes7. De la même façon, Zacharia et ses collaborateurs préconisent un rôle élargi du système Th2-IgE typiquement décrit comme un système, conçu pour détruire les helminthes et autres parasites, qui déborde et cause l’allergie. D’après eux, le système Th2 peut en fait servir à protéger contre une variété de carcinogènes environnementaux et de maladies infectieuses en réduisant au minimum les risques liés aux contraintes biotiques et abiotiques dans l’organisme. Un système Th2 très actif diminuerait donc le risque de cancer en augmentant l’élimination des carcinogènes.

Malgré l’intérêt que cela représente, il reste du travail à faire en utilisant une définition plus précise de « l’allergie » et en examinant l’association entre des sous-types de maladies atopiques et de cancer car le mécanisme de protection peut varier aussi bien suivant le type et la gravité que suivant l’allergie et le cancer.


Références :

  1. Cockroft, D., Klein, G., Donevan, R. et Copland, G. « Is there a negative correlation between malignancy and respiratory atopy? » Ann Allergy, vol. 43 (1979), p. 345-7.
  2. Grulich, A. et coll. « Birth order, atopy, and risk of non-Hodgkin lymphoma » J Natl Cancer Inst, vol. 97 (2005), p. 587-94.
  3. Lavecchia, C., Negri, E., D'Avanzo, B., Boyle, P. et Franceschi, S. « Medical history and primary liver cancer », Cancer Res, vol. 50 (1990), p. 6274-7.
  4. Lavecchia, C., D'Avanzo, B., Negri, E. et Franceschi, S. « History of selected diseases and the risk of colorectal cancer », Eur J Cancer, vol. 27 (1991), p. 582-6.
  5. Mesquita, B. D., Maisonneuve, P., Moerman, C. et Walker, A. « Aspects of medical history and exocrine carcinoma of the pancreas: a population-based case-control study in The Netherlands », In J Cancer, vol. 52 (1992), p. 17-23.
  6. Negri, E. et coll. « Allergy and other selected diseases and risk of colorectal cancer », Eur J Cancer, vol. 35 (1999), p. 1838-41.
  7. Wang, H. et Diepgen, T. « Atopic dermatitis », British Journal of Dermatology, vol. 154 (2005), p. 205-210.
  8. Zacharia, B. et Sherman, P. « Atopy, helminths, and cancer », Med Hypotheses, vol. 60 (2003), p. 1-5.

Info asthme allergies, numéro 4 2006

return Retour à la section de l'information sur l'allergie

| Politique de confidentialité | Contactez-nous | © AIAA, 2009
Site Web maintenu par Konecny Consulting Inc.