Allergy/Asthma Information Association

Food for Thought

By Elaine Pollard, AAIA member, St. Albert, Alberta

Last school year, another parent and I advocated for our children by addressing School Council in an attempt to raise awareness about milk allergy and to ask for critical thinking about the use of food in school. The first mother has two children who are anaphylactic to eggs, milk and nuts (ground nuts and tree nuts); one child also has asthma. My child is anaphylactic to milk and milk products.

I consider a severe allergy to be, in my terms, a Condition Requiring Community Response (CRCR). A child with haemophilia, for example, must have playmates who ensure that the child does not receive bruises during their time together. His teachers must recognize and act appropriately if the child appears to be bleeding internally. As such, the non-allergy community has a role to play in safeguarding children with allergies. But what is that role and how much is expected of them?

Parents of a child with a severe allergy start their own and their child's education regarding the allergy the minute they receive the diagnosis. As with all such parents, I have raised my child to be allergy aware; he has, for example, learned how to read labels for milk products as developmentally appropriate. As he enters grade four, I feel confident that he will try to avoid a situation where his food might be cross-contaminated with a dairy product, even if it means separating himself from certain individuals at a play date.

However, in a setting where I cannot always be present and where he is continually surrounded by food, I require a community response to assist with my child's well-being. At school, I must say that many of the parents of my child's friends have been very accommodating of his special needs, especially at birthday parties. And yet, I was met with an altogether different reaction at the School Council presentation.

One mother told me that she is aware of allergies and she is scrupulous about reading labels for nuts when she shops. A few moments later, she told me that I should request a pizza without cheese for my milk allergy child when the school throws a pizza party. She was sadly unaware of the dangers of accidental cross-contamination for anyone except for the child with the nut allergy. It was at this point that I recognized the phenomenon of allergy fatigue, a term coined by another AAIA member. I realized that the school community had agreed to be allergy aware by being a nut-free school. They knew how to read labels for traces of nuts, but now they were unwilling to go beyond that one trigger of anaphylaxis.

Those lobbying on behalf of nut allergic children in our school have been telling other parents what their children could and couldn't eat for breakfast. So many reminders about peanut/nut allergies have gone out that some teachers have given up on class parties. So the reasons for the allergy fatigue became more apparent to me as the year progressed.

Now, I would like to suggest that we (AAIA members) ask the non-allergic community to do less regarding peanut /nut allergies. Ironically, by doing this we will end up doing more for the larger allergy community and ultimately the whole community. First and foremost, instead of asking them to read labels for allergens, we should let the non-allergic community pack lunches with whatever they deem necessary for their children's nutritional needs (peanut butter and cheese included). After all, the recent study “Relevance of casual contact with peanut butter in children with peanut allergy” suggests that a child with a nut allergy sitting next to a child eating a peanut butter sandwich is not in a life-threatening situation. Instead of advocating for a ban of one trigger for anaphylaxis, we should invite the non-allergic community to request more hand-washing in schools and to insist on better cleaning of their children's classrooms. We should ask the non-allergic community to think critically about the use of all foods in schools for fundraising and rewards. (Why do we need all those pizza parties in schools?).

In this age of awareness of obesity and diabetes, of SARS and flu, of mysterious infections and mutating viruses, of individual rights and community protection, we would be asking the non-allergic community to do these things for themselves and also to help the more global allergy community. With over 200 foods identified as allergens, the banning of nuts in schools sets an impossible precedent and creates an ineffective means of allergy awareness. Some paediatric allergists do not agree with the banning of foods. Let's ask for allergy aware schools, not allergy free schools.

My child suffered with hives at school this past year for a five day period because of the viscosity of the hot cheese dip brought in for a lunch time fund-raiser. Better hand-washing and desk-washing could have prevented his unfortunate, but minor, reaction. At least it wasn't anaphylactic shock. This cleanliness routine could also alleviate the spread of infections among all children.

Allergies are a CRCR. Yes, the non-allergic community must know what allergies are present at a school; they must know what cross-contamination is; and they must know how to recognize and to respond to an allergic and an anaphylactic reaction. Let's make schools safer and cleaner for all children.

from Allergy & Asthma News, Issue 3 2005

return Return to the Information for Schools section

| Privacy Policy | Contact Us | © AAIA, 2016
Web site maintained by Konecny Consulting Inc.

Association d'information sur l'allergie et l'asthme

« Alimentaire » mon cher Watson !

Elaine Pollard, membre de l’AIAA, St-Albert (Alberta)

L’année dernière à l’école, moi et une autre mère avons milité en faveur de nos enfants auprès du comité d’école. Nous voulions mieux faire connaître l’allergie au lait et demander qu’on aborde avec un esprit critique l’usage qu’on fait de la nourriture à l’école.  Cette autre mère a deux enfants qui souffrent d’anaphylaxie aux oeufs, au lait et aux noix ; l’un d’eux souffre d’asthme également. Pour ma part, j’ai un enfant atteint d’anaphylaxie au lait et aux produits laitiers.

Pour moi, une allergie grave est un Problème de santé qui nécessite une intervention communautaire (PSNIC). Les camarades d’un enfant atteint d’hémophilie, par exemple,  veillent à ce qu’il ne se fasse pas d’ecchymose quand ils jouent ensemble. Ses enseignants doivent s’apercevoir s’il semble saigner à l’interne et savoir agir en conséquence. De la même manière, la communauté non allergique a un rôle à jouer pour la sauvegarde des enfants allergiques. Mais, quel est ce rôle et jusqu’où doit-il aller ?

Celui des parents d’un enfant gravement allergique commence, dès l’instant du diagnostic, par leur propre éducation et celle de leur enfant. Comme eux, j’ai élevé mon enfant à bien connaître son allergie. Il a appris, par exemple, à détecter les produits laitiers en lisant les étiquettes une fois rendu à une étape de son développement où c’était possible.  Il entre en quatrième année et j’ai pleine confiance qu’il tentera d’éviter les situations où sa nourriture pourrait être contaminée par un produit laitier, même si cela veut dire qu’il doit s’abstenir d’aller jouer avec certains amis.

Toutefois, je ne peux pas toujours être présente là où mon enfant est constamment entouré de nourriture. L’intervention communautaire m’est nécessaire pour son bien-être. Je dois dire que les parents de ses amis ont été compréhensifs par rapport à ses besoins particuliers, spécialement pour les anniversaires, mais ma présentation au comité d’école a provoqué une toute autre réaction.

Une mère m’a dit qu’elle connaissait les allergies et qu’elle lisait scrupuleusement les étiquettes pour éviter les noix. Un instant plus tard, elle m’a conseillé de commander une pizza sans fromage pour mon enfant allergique au lait lorsque l’école fête à la pizza. Elle n’était définitivement pas au courant des dangers d’une contamination croisée accidentelle sauf dans le cas de l’allergie aux noix. C’est à ce moment-là que j’ai constaté le phénomène de la fatigue des allergies, un terme inventé par une autre membre de l’AIAA.  J’ai réalisé que le milieu scolaire s’entendait pour que la sensibilisation aux allergies se limite à une école sans noix ni arachide. Ces gens savaient lire les étiquettes pour les traces de noix mais ils n’étaient pas prêts à aller au-delà d’un seul déclencheur  d’anaphylaxie.

Ceux qui militent pour leurs enfants allergiques aux noix à notre école en sont rendus à dire aux autres parents ce que leurs enfants ont le droit ou non de manger pour déjeuner. Ils ont tellement envoyé de rappels sur l’allergie à l’arachide ou aux noix que des enseignants ont laissé tomber les fêtes en classe. C’est alors que j’ai commencé à comprendre pourquoi la fatigue des allergies devenait plus en plus apparente dans l’année.

Aujourd’hui, j’aimerais suggérer que nous, membres de l’AIAA, demandions à la communauté non allergique d’en faire moins pour l’allergie à l’arachide ou aux noix. Ironiquement, ils en viendront ainsi à en faire plus pour la grande communauté allergique et, éventuellement, pour toute la collectivité.  D’abord et avant tout, plutôt que de leur demander de lire les étiquettes à la recherche d’allergènes, nous devrions laisser les parents de la communauté non allergique mettre dans la boîte à lunch de leur enfant tout ce qu’ils croient nécessaire à sa bonne nutrition, y compris du beurre d’arachide et du fromage. Après tout, la récente étude américaine intitulée  “Relevance of casual contact with peanut butter in children with peanut allergy” donne à penser qu’un enfant allergique aux noix assis près d’un enfant en train de manger un sandwich au beurre d’arachide n’est pas en danger de mort.  Plutôt que de militer pour faire interdire un seul déclencheur d’anaphylaxie, nous devrions encourager la communauté non allergique à exiger que les enfants se lavent les mains plus souvent à l’école et que leurs salles de classe soient mieux nettoyées. Nous devrions aussi l’inciter à faire preuve d’un sens critique  lorsqu’il s’agit de nourriture pour recueillir des fonds ou récompenser les enfants. Qu’avons-nous besoin de toutes ces fêtes à la pizza à l’école ?

En cette ère de prise de conscience de l’obésité, du diabète, du SRAS, de la grippe, de mystérieuses infections, de virus mutants, de droits individuels et de protection communautaire, nous devrions demander à la communauté non allergique de prendre conscience d’elle-même et d’aider la communauté allergique dans son ensemble. Face aux plus de 200 aliments identifiés comme allergènes, l’interdiction des noix à l’école établit un précédent risible et un mode insignifiant de sensibilisation aux allergies. Certains spécialistes des allergies infantiles ne sont pas d’accord avec l’interdiction des aliments. Ne demandons donc pas des écoles sans allergies mais bien plutôt des écoles conscientes des allergies.

L’an dernier, mon enfant a fait de l’urticaire pendant cinq jours à cause d’une trempette au fromage visqueuse apportée à l’école pour une collecte de fonds.  Un meilleur lavage des mains et des pupitres aurait pu prévenir cette malheureuse réaction mineure. Heureusement, ça n’était pas un choc anaphylactique. Cette routine de propreté pourrait aussi atténuer la propagation d’infections d’un enfant à l’autre.

Les allergies sont un PSNIC. Oui, il faut que la communauté non allergique sache qu’il y a de l’allergie à l’école, qu’elle apprenne ce qu’est la contamination croisée, comment reconnaître et quoi faire en cas de réaction allergique ou d’un choc anaphylactique. Faisons en sorte que nos écoles soient plus sécuritaires et plus propres pour tous les enfants.

Info asthme allergies, numéro 3 2005

return Retour à la section Écoles

| Politique de confidentialité | Contactez-nous | © AIAA, 2016
Site Web maintenu par Konecny Consulting Inc.