Allergy/Asthma Information Association

Statistics

Asthma

Asthma is one of the most common causes of emergency department visits in Canada and is a leading cause of school and work absenteeism. It is generally estimated that in Canada 12% of children and 8% of adults have asthma, which is approximately 2.5 million Canadians. (Statistics Canada, National Population Health Survey 1998-1999. Ottawa 2000).

For more detailed statistics go to:

Food Allergy

Most experts believe that the prevalence of food allergy is rising along with a general rise in the incidence of allergic conditions. However it is difficult to substantiate this with reliable statistics.

The American Academy of Allergy, Asthma and Immunology estimates that from 2 to 4% of children and 1 to 2% of adults have allergic reactions to food www.aaaai.org/media/resources/media_kit/allergy_statistics.stm

The most common food allergens, which have been formally identified by Health Canada, are peanut, tree nuts, shellfish, fish, milk, egg, wheat, soy and sesame.

Peanut allergy: It is believed that the incidence of peanut allergy exceeds 1% of the population and that for at least 80% this allergy will be life long.

In a recent study of the prevalence of peanut allergy in primary-school children in Montréal, Canada involving 4339 respondents the prevalence of peanut allergy was found to be 1.50%. This study was the first in North America to corroborate history with confirmatory testing and the largest worldwide to incorporate these techniques. (Kagan et al Journal of Allergy and Clinical Immunology, Volume 112, Issue 6, December 2003, Pages 1223-1228

Allergic Rhinitis

The Canadian Allergy, Asthma and Immunology Foundation estimates that 20-25% of Canadians have allergic rhinitis (also referred to as “hay fever”).

return Return to the Media Information section

| Privacy Policy | Contact Us | © AAIA, 2016
Web site maintained by Konecny Consulting Inc.

Association d'information sur l'allergie et l'asthme

Statistiques

Asthme

Source : Statistique Canada, Rapports sur la santé, vol. 16 no 2, 15 mars 2005.

Voici quelques liens où trouver d’autres statistiques sur l’asthme.

Allergies alimentaires

La plupart des experts s'entendent : la prévalence des allergies alimentaires augmente au même rythme que l'incidence des affections allergiques dans leur ensemble. Il est toutefois difficile d'asseoir cette conviction sur des statistiques précises.

L'American Academy of Allergy, Asthma and Immunology estime que de 2 à 4 % des enfants et de 1 à 2 % des adultes font des réactions allergiques à des aliments.
www.aaaai.org/media/resources/media_kit/allergy_statistics.stm

Selon Santé Canada, les allergènes alimentaires les plus courants sont  : l'arachide, les noix, le lait, les oeufs, le poisson, les crustacés et les mollusques, le blé, le soya et les graines de sésame.

Allergie à l'arachide. On évalue l'incidence de l'allergie à l'arachide à plus de 1 % de la population. Cette allergie durera toute la vie chez au moins 80 % des personnes atteintes.

Dans une étude récente menée auprès de 4339 enfants des écoles primaires de Montréal, des chercheurs ont constaté une prévalence de l'allergie à l'arachide s'élevant à 1,50 %. Cette étude est la première en Amérique du Nord à utiliser des tests de confirmation pour corroborer les résultats des dossiers médicaux; c'est aussi la plus vaste étude au monde intégrant les deux techniques. [Kagan, R. et coll. « Prevalence of Peanut Allergy in primary-school children in Montreal, Canada », Journal of Allergy and Clinical Immunology, vol. 112, no 6 (décembre 2003)]

Rhinite allergique

Selon la Fondation canadienne d'allergie, d'asthme et d'immunologie, de 20 à 25 % des Canadiens souffrent de rhinite allergique (également appelée « rhume des foins »).

return Retour à la section Médias

| Politique de confidentialité | Contactez-nous | © AIAA, 2016
Site Web maintenu par Konecny Consulting Inc.