Allergy/Asthma Information Association

New Brunswick School Policy #704

By Gloria Shanks, AAIA Atlantic Regional Coordinator

New Brunswick School Policy # 704 (Health Support Services) was established in 1997 to define standards and procedures required for the provision of health support services to students while they are the responsibility of the public education system, recognizing this responsibility is shared among parents, the public school system and health care providers.

The policy was revised in 2004 to include the provision of a training session on anaphylactic shock to be held at the beginning of each school year. Efforts shall be made to include the parents in the training. The Allergy/ Asthma Information Association (AAIA) Anaphylaxis Reference Kit MUST be used for the training and the session must cover the auto injector administration and the emergency plan to be put in place. Training MUST be delivered to all staff, including the principal, teachers, school day care personnel, bus drivers, custodians, lunchroom supervisors, resource staff and any casual employee, including substitute teachers present in the school at the time of the training session.

A licensing agreement between AAIA and the New Brunswick Department of Education to provide New Brunswick public schools with the "Anaphylaxis Reference Kit" for the sole purpose of training school staff was signed and became effective on September 5, 2006.

Since the above date AAIA and it's trained volunteers have been implementing the "Train the Trainer" program within the New Brunswick school system. Bilingual trainers are available to accommodate the two official languages of NB. Trainers go to specific school districts where two or three designated staff from each school in the district congregate for the training. Each training session lasts for two hours or more and complete training is given including the administration of the auto injector. The staff then is responsible to go back to their respective schools and implement the training and to make sure the training session is given at the beginning of each school year.

Thus far the "Train the Trainer" program has been given in several school districts to hundreds of participants. It will continue until all school districts have received the training. AAIA has made itself available for consultation on the training if school staff after receiving the initial "Train the Trainer" feel they need more training or more information.

The AAIA "Train the Trainer" program has been well received and AAIA has received many positive responses to the training program and the necessity of the training program in the public school system.

The policy can be viewed at Next link will open in a new windowwww.gnb.ca/0000/policies.asp

from Allergy & Asthma News, Issue 2 2007

return Return to the Information for Schools section

| Privacy Policy | Contact Us | © AAIA, 2016
Web site maintained by Konecny Consulting Inc.

Association d'information sur l'allergie et l'asthme

Politique 704 du Nouveau-Brunswick

Gloria Shanks, coordinatrice, AIAA Atlantique

La politique 704 pour les écoles du Nouveau-Brunswick (Services de soutien à la santé) a été établie en 1997 afin de définir les normes et procédures nécessaires pour donner des services de soutien à la santé aux élèves étant sous la responsabilité du réseau des écoles publiques, compte tenu du fait que les parents, le réseau des écoles publiques et les fournisseurs de soins de la santé doivent se partager cette responsabilité.

La politique a été révisée en 2004 pour inclure la présentation d’une séance de formation sur le choc anaphylactique au début de chaque année scolaire. L’école doit faire un effort pour permettre aux parents d’assister à la formation. Les formateurs DOIVENT se servir de la Trousse de référence sur l’anaphylaxie de l’AIAA et aborder l’administration de l’épinéphrine ainsi que la procédure à suivre en cas d’urgence. Cette formation DOIT être fournie à l’ensemble du personnel, y compris la direction, le personnel enseignant, le personnel de la garderie, les conducteurs, les concierges, le personnel surveillant de la salle à manger, le personnel-ressource et tous les employés temporaires, incluant les suppléants présents dans l’école au moment de la séance de formation.

Un contrat de licence entre l’AIAA et le ministère de l’Éducation du Nouveau-Brunswick a été signé et a pris effet le 5 septembre 2006. Il vise à fournir aux écoles publiques de la province notre Trousse de référence sur l’anaphylaxie dans l’unique but de former leur personnel.

Depuis lors, l’AIAA et ses instructeurs bénévoles ont mis en place un programme de « Formation des formateurs » dans l’ensemble du réseau des écoles publiques du Nouveau-Brunswick. Nous avons des instructeurs bilingues pour répondre à la demande dans les deux langues officielles. Ils font affaires avec les districts scolaires où chaque école désigne deux ou trois membres de son personnel pour recevoir la formation. Cette formation complète inclut l’administration de l’épinéphrine et dure au moins deux heures. Les participants retournent ensuite voir à la formation sur l’anaphylaxie dans leurs écoles respectives et organiser une séance spéciale au début de chaque année.

Jusqu’à présent, le programme de Formation des formateurs a été administré à des centaines de participants dans plusieurs districts scolaires du Nouveau-Brunswick. Il se poursuivra jusqu’à ce que tous les districts aient reçu une formation initiale. L’AIAA demeure à la disposition du personnel scolaire qui, après avoir participé au programme, éprouve le besoin d’une consultation pour une formation plus approfondie ou de plus amples renseignements.

Le programme de Formation des formateurs de l’AIAA a été favorablement accueilli. Il suscite de nombreuses réactions positives quant au programme et à la nécessité d’un programme de formation sur l’anaphylaxie dans les écoles publiques.

Pour consulter la politique 704, visitez le site Le lien suivant s'ouvrira dans une nouvelle fenÍtrewww.gnb.ca/0000/politiques.asp.

Info asthme allergies, numéro 2 2007

return Retour à la section Écoles

| Politique de confidentialité | Contactez-nous | © AIAA, 2016
Site Web maintenu par Konecny Consulting Inc.