Allergy/Asthma Information Association

Pets in Schools

Dr. Robert Schellenberg, M.D., F.R.C.P. (C), Professor, Dept. of Medicine, UBC, Head of the Division of Allergy & Immunology at UBC and St. Paul's Hospital, Vancouver, BC

I am concerned with any school policy which exposes allergic children to animals. Animals are very potent sensitizers and repeated exposure to them can induce allergic conditions such as asthma in individuals who have not previously had the disease. I have personally been associated with two cases in my own hospital where adults developed asthma for the first time following inadvertent exposure to animal allergens despite the fact that neither individual worked directly with the animals and was only exposed through the ventilating system. This raises my first concern that, if animals are housed within a school, the allergen is circulated to every room if there are common cold air returns through forced air heating.

The second problem relates to the difficulty in associating increased asthma symptoms with a specific factor. Pet exposure in sensitized individuals frequently presents with late asthmatic symptoms, that is asthma coming on 4 to 12 hours after the exposure rather than acutely. Therefore, the child or parent of a child developing asthma in the evening may not associate that disease with the fact that they were exposed to an animal during the day.

My third concern relates to the fact that any allergen exposure increases non-specific airway hyper- responsiveness as has been documented for many different types of allergen. This means that the airways of the asthmatic narrow much more strikingly than those of a normal person and can be linked to a host of factors, be they allergenic or non-allergenic such as cold air or exercise. Therefore, the asthmatic might not note a specific attack related to pet exposure but will subsequently have worsening asthma at all other times.

For the above-mentioned reasons, it is critical that susceptible individuals not receive exposure to animal allergens and that animals not be chronically maintained in a school setting unless separate ventilation is available. Since approximately 25% of the population is allergic in one form or another (hay fever, eczema or asthma) and up to 10% have asthma, any school population will have children predisposed to allergic symptoms even if they are not currently allergic to animals. In addition, I am sure every school system has children who are already allergic to animals and will definitely have worsening disease.

from Allergy & Asthma News, Issue 1 2007

return Return to the Information for Schools section

| Privacy Policy | Contact Us | © AAIA, 2016
Web site maintained by Konecny Consulting Inc.

Association d'information sur l'allergie et l'asthme

Animaux familiers à l’école

Robert R. Schellenberg, M.D., FRCPC, professeur, faculté de médecine, UBC, chef de la division Allergie et Immunologie, UBC et St. Paul's Hospital, Vancouver (Colombie-Britannique)

Toute politique scolaire qui permet de mettre les enfants allergiques en contact avec des animaux m’inquiète. Ce sont de puissants sensibilisateurs. L’exposition répétée aux animaux familiers peut développer une affection allergique, comme l’asthme, chez des personnes qui n’en ont jamais été atteintes auparavant. J’ai été personnellement associé à deux cas dans mon hôpital où des adultes sont devenus asthmatiques après avoir été exposés par inadvertance aux allergènes d’animaux. Aucun n’avait jamais eu à travailler directement avec des animaux mais ils y avaient été exposés par le système de ventilation. Cela soulève chez moi une première préoccupation. Si on garde des animaux à l’école, leurs allergènes peuvent se propager dans toutes les classes quand le système de ventilation à air chaud s’alimente aux conduits de retour de l’air froid de tout le bâtiment qu’il réchauffe avant de le redistribuer.

Le second problème vient du fait qu’il est difficile d’associer l’accroissement des symptômes de l’asthme à un facteur spécifique. Quand elles sont exposées à des animaux familiers, les personnes sensibles présentent souvent des symptômes tardifs qui se déclarent de 4 à 12 heures plus tard plutôt que de manière aiguë. C’est pour cela que l’enfant ou le parent d’un enfant dont l’asthme se déclare en soirée n’établit pas nécessairement le lien avec l’exposition à un animal durant la journée.

Ma troisième crainte vient du fait que, comme l’ont montré différents types d’allergènes, toute exposition accroît l’hyper-réactivité bronchique non allergénique. Cela veut dire que les voies respiratoires rétrécissent de façon beaucoup plus frappante chez une personne asthmatique que chez une personne normale, un phénomène pouvant provenir d’une quantité de facteurs, allergéniques ou non, comme l’air froid ou l’exercice. Par conséquent, il est fort possible qu’une personne asthmatique ne remarque pas que des crises sont directement liées à l’exposition à un animal et son asthme peut continuer de s’aggraver d’une fois à l’autre.

Pour toutes les raisons mentionnées auparavant, il est essentiel de ne pas exposer les personnes sensibles aux allergènes des animaux et de ne pas garder d’animaux en permanence dans les écoles, à moins d’avoir un système de ventilation séparé dans les locaux où ils vivent. Étant donné qu’environ 25 % de la population souffre d’allergie sous une forme ou une autre (rhume des foins, eczéma ou asthme) et que jusqu’à 10 % des habitants sont atteints d’asthme, toutes les populations scolaires comptent des enfants prédisposés aux symptômes allergiques même s’ils ne sont pas pour l’instant allergiques aux animaux. De plus, je reste convaincu que chaque système scolaire compte des enfants qui sont déjà allergiques aux animaux et dont la maladie ne pourra ainsi qu’aller en s’aggravant.

Info asthme allergies, numéro 1 2007

return Retour à la section Écoles

| Politique de confidentialité | Contactez-nous | © AIAA, 2016
Site Web maintenu par Konecny Consulting Inc.