Allergy/Asthma Information Association

Proposed Regulatory Amendments to Enhance the Labeling of Priority Allergens in Foods

Health Canada has prepared regulatory amendments to enhance labeling requirements for specific priority allergens, gluten sources and sulphites in prepackaged foods sold in Canada. Health Canada intends to recommend that these proposed regulatory amendments be published in the Canada Gazette, Part 1, by mid-2004. Once the amendments are passed there will be a phase in period, which will likely be two years, to allow food manufacturers to adapt to the changes.

The following information has been provided by the Food Directorate, Health Products and Food Branch, Health Canada (February 2004). The major thrust of the change is that, no matter how small the quantity, the top ten allergens will have to be listed on labels of foods that require labeling. This will be a welcome development for food allergic consumers as well as those who affected by Celiac disease.

The proposed regulatory amendments to the Food and Drug Regulations would include:

1) (a) the label declaration of the following foods, or any protein-containing derivatives of these, in the list of ingredients by their common name if added directly as an ingredient in prepackaged foods:

(b) if the name of the allergenic food is not already identified in the common name of the derivative, then the name of the allergenic food would have to appear in brackets following the ingredient;

2) (a) amendments to section B.01.009, which exempts certain ingredients or classes of ingredients from label declaration, to require the declaration of the foods mentioned above or any protein-containing derivative, when they are added as a component of an ingredient listed in the Table to subsection B.01.009(1);

(b) the declaration would be made in the list of ingredients by common name, as if they were an ingredient of that food, followed, in brackets, by the name of the specific allergenic food specified above (e.g. casein (milk)), if it is not already identified in the common name of the derivative;

(c) if more than one component of an ingredient or of a class of ingredient contains the same priority allergen or gluten source, the name of the specific allergen or gluten source may be declared only once in the list of ingredients;

3) identification of the plant or animal source in the common name of all hydrolysed proteins;

4) identification of the specific source of the plant in the common name of all forms of starch (including maltodextrin) or modified starch;

5) identification of the source of lecithin in the common name of lecithin;

6) amendments to subsection B.01.009(1) to require the declaration of sulphites when they have been added to a component of an ingredient listed in the Table to this subsection and are present at a level of 10 ppm or more in the final food product;. the declaration would be a statement that the food contains sulphites or a sulphiting agent, or the word "sulphites", or the words "sulphiting agent", or the name of the sulphiting agent would be shown in the list of ingredients;

Note: The proposed amendments would not change the current requirement for the declaration of sulphites directly added to a food product at any level, as is the case for any food additive or ingredient not exempted from component declaration in the Table to subsection B.01.009(1). The only change would be in the manner of declaration as the proposed regulatory amendments would allow the optional use of a statement to indicate that the food contains sulphites in addition to the current options of declaring "sulphites", "sulphiting agents" or the name of the sulphiting agent in the list of ingredients;

7) a requirement for a statement on the principal display panel of standardized vinegars and alcoholic beverages that the product contains one or more priority allergens, protein-containing derivatives of these allergens and sulphites (if the sulphites are present at a level of 10 ppm or more) should they have been added directly or indirectly to the product;

8) consequential amendments to paragraph B.01.010(3)(b), which lists common names for groups of specific ingredients or components, to reflect the requirements for the declaration of priority allergens and gluten sources.

Exemptions from the Proposed Regulatory Amendments

The following products would be exempted from the proposed requirements:

For more information, please contact:

from Allergy & Asthma News, Issue 2 2004

return Return to the Information about Anaphylaxis section

| Privacy Policy | Contact Us | © AAIA, 2016
Web site maintained by Konecny Consulting Inc.

Association d'information sur l'allergie et l'asthme

Modifications réglementaires proposées pour améliorer l'étiquetage des allergènes prioritaires dans les aliments

Santé Canada a préparé des amendements à son projet de règlement qui vise à améliorer les exigences d'étiquetage pour les allergènes prioritaires, les sources de gluten et les sulfites dans les aliments préemballés vendus au pays. Santé Canada a l'intention de recommander que les modifications réglementaires proposées soient publiées dans la partie I de la Gazette du Canada, d'ici le milieu de l'année 2004. Une fois ces amendements acceptés, il y aura une période de transition, de deux ans probablement, pour permettre aux fabricants de produits alimentaires de s’adapter aux changements.

Ces renseignements sont offerts par la Direction des aliments, Direction générale des produits de santé et des aliments de Santé Canada (février 2004).  Ce changement vise essentiellement à  faire en sorte que les aliments devant être étiquetés comportent une liste des allergènes prioritaires qu’il contiennent pour toute quantité si petite soit-elle. Cette mesure sera bien accueillie par les consommateurs allergiques ainsi que ceux qui souffrent de la maladie cœliaque.

Les modifications réglementaires proposées au Règlement sur les aliments et drogues comprendraient :

1) (a) la déclaration sur l'étiquette des aliments suivants, ou de leurs dérivés contenant des protéines, dans la liste des ingrédients par leur nom commun s'ils sont ajoutés directement comme ingrédients dans les aliments préemballés :

(b) si le nom de l'aliment allergène n'est pas déjà indiqué dans le nom commun du dérivé, il devra alors figurer entre parenthèses à la suite de l'ingrédient;

2) (a) des modifications à l'article B.01.009, lequel exclut certains ingrédients ou catégories d'ingrédients de la déclaration sur l'étiquette, pour exiger la déclaration des aliments mentionnés ci-dessus ou de leurs dérivés contenant des protéines, lorsqu'ils sont ajoutés comme constituants d'un ingrédient indiqué dans le tableau du paragraphe B.01.009(1);

(b) la déclaration serait faite dans la liste des ingrédients selon le nom commun, comme s'il s'agissait d'un ingrédient de cet aliment, suivi, entre parenthèses, du nom de l'aliment allergène particulier indiqué ci-dessus (ex. : caséine (lait), s'il n'est pas déjà indiqué dans le nom commun du dérivé;

(c) si plusieurs constituants d'un ingrédient ou d'une classe d'ingrédients contiennent l'allergène prioritaire ou la même source de gluten, le nom de l'allergène particulier ou de la source de gluten pourra être déclaré une fois seulement dans la liste des ingrédients;

3) l'identification de la source végétale ou animale dans le nom commun de toutes les protéines hydrolysées;

4) l'identification de la source particulière de la plante dans le nom commun de toutes les formes d'amidon (incluant la maltodextrine) ou d'amidon transformé;

5) l'identification de la source de lécithine dans le nom commun de la lécithine;

6) les modifications au paragraphe B.01.009(1) pour exiger la déclaration des sulfites lorsqu'ils ont été ajoutés au constituant d'un ingrédient figurant dans le tableau de ce paragraphe et dont le niveau est de 10 ppm ou plus dans le produit alimentaire final; la déclaration serait un énoncé que cet aliment contient des sulfites ou un agent de sulfitage, ou le mot « sulfites », ou les mots « agent de sulfitage » ou le nom de l'agent de sulfitage figurerait dans la liste des ingrédients;

Note : Les modifications proposées ne changeraient pas l'exigence actuelle pour la déclaration des sulfites ajoutés directement à un produit alimentaire à tout niveau quelconque, comme c'est le cas pour tout additif alimentaire ou ingrédient non exempté de la déclaration des constituants au tableau du paragraphe B.01.009(1). Le seul changement serait la manière de faire la déclaration car les modifications réglementaires proposées permettraient l'utilisation facultative d'un énoncé pour indiquer que l'aliment contient des sulfites en plus des options actuelles de déclaration des « sulfites », « agents de sulfitage » ou le nom de l'agent de sulfitage dans la liste des ingrédients;

7) l'exigence de déclaration sur l'espace principal de l'étiquette pour les vinaigres et les boissons alcoolisées normalisés indiquant que le produit contient un ou plusieurs allergènes prioritaires, des dérivés contenant des protéines de ces allergènes et des sulfites (si les sulfites sont présents à une dose de 10 p.p.m. ou plus) dans le cas où ils auraient été ajoutés directement ou indirectement au produit;

8) des modifications corrélatives à l'alinéa B.01.010(3)b), lequel dresse la liste des noms communs pour les groupes d'ingrédients ou de constituants spécifiques, pour refléter les exigences pour la déclaration d'allergènes prioritaires et de sources de gluten.

Produits exemptés des modifications réglementaires proposées

Les produits suivants seraient exemptés des exigences proposées :

Pour plus d'information, veuillez contacter:

Info asthme allergies, numéro 2 2004

return Retour à la section de l'information sur l'anaphylaxie

| Politique de confidentialité | Contactez-nous | © AIAA, 2016
Site Web maintenu par Konecny Consulting Inc.