Allergy/Asthma Information Association

Sublingual Immunotherapy for Milk Allergy

microscope

Researched and written by Eric Byrtus, a Grade 12 student from Edmonton, AB

Vaccines work great for diseases, so why not allergies? Research around the world has confirmed the effectiveness of sublingual (oral) immunotherapy in treating milk and certain other food allergies. Immunotherapy, the desensitization to a certain allergen, is one of the oldest approaches for managing allergic diseases, having first been performed for grass pollen ‘hay fever’ over 100 years ago. Rather than traditional treatment of antihistamines and corticosteroids, which only treat the symptoms, immunotherapy has the potential to modify the natural course of the allergic disease. However, it has not been commonly used to treat food allergies, given the high risk of anaphylaxis. There are currently two types of immunotherapy: subcutaneous and sublingual. Subcutaneous involves numerous injections (“allergy shots”) just below the skin, while sublingual involves small drops (“allergy drops”) or tablets being placed under the tongue.

Unlike subcutaneous immunotherapy, used to treat inhalant allergens such as dust, pollen and mould, the new sublingual immunotherapy, currently being tested for use in treating food allergies, is largely administered at home by the patient or caregiver. Other benefits to using the sublingual method include fewer side effects, significantly lower risk of anaphylaxis, lower cost, and noticeable improvement in just a few months. Sublingual immunotherapy has also already shown tremendous promise in treating the same types of allergies as the subcutaneous method.

Treatment for food allergies will usually be conducted once daily, very gradually increasing the dose to a pre-determined target which would hopefully induce a state of tolerance, potentially normalizing the patient’s diet. At the least, this should offer protection against anaphylaxis with small accidental exposures. With all of the advantages over subcutaneous immunotherapy, and especially over traditional treatments, it is hard to believe that sublingual immunotherapy is not being used more frequently. In fact, allergy drops have been used around the world for more than 60 years, and numerous studies validate both their safety and effectiveness. The World Health Organization (WHO) has endorsed sublingual immunotherapy as a viable alternative to injection therapy. The Cochrane Collaboration, the world’s most-trusted international organization dedicated to reviewing healthcare treatments, recently concluded that allergy drop immunotherapy significantly reduces allergy symptoms and the use of allergy medications.

This method of treatment is gaining acceptance throughout the world, and is increasingly being studied for food allergies, most commonly with milk, eggs, peanuts, and hazlenuts. Based on this very exciting research, pediatric allergists in Edmonton have begun offering oral milk desensitization for selected patients, and anticipate offering this for egg and peanut allergies in the foreseeable future. Drs. Carr, Lidman, and Vander Leek are all optimistic that this novel approach to food allergy will prove life-altering for patients with persistent hypersensitivity.

Editor’s note: Sublingual immunotherapy described in this article (also called sublingual swallow immunotherapy) must be distinguished from an unproven, controversial technique used decades ago and, to a lesser degree, now, called sublingual provocative testing, neutralization and sublingual desensitization.

References:

Next link will open in a new windowhomepage.mac.com/changcy/SLITfaq.htm

Next link will open in a new windowallergies.about.com/od/allergyshots/a/slit.htm

Next link will open in a new windowwww.allerdrops.com/resource_center/articles.html

from Allergy & Asthma News, Issue 2 2008

return Return to the Information about Anaphylaxis section

| Privacy Policy | Contact Us | © AAIA, 2017
Web site maintained by Konecny Consulting Inc.

Association d'information sur l'allergie et l'asthme

La voie vers l’immunothérapie sublinguale

microscope

Eric Byrtus, étudiant en 12e année, Edmonton (Alberta)

Les vaccins accomplissent des miracles contre les maladies. Pourquoi n’y en aurait-il pas contre les allergies? La recherche partout dans le monde confirme l’efficacité de l’immunothérapie sublinguale (par voie orale) contre l’allergie au lait et certains autres aliments. L’immunothérapie, soit la désensibilisation à un allergène, est l’une des plus anciennes approches pour maîtriser les maladies allergiques. Son origine remonte à plus de 100 ans alors qu’elle était tentée pour la première fois pour vaincre le « rhume des foins » en raison du pollen de graminées. Les traitements traditionnels à base d’antihistaminiques et de corticostéroïdes ne font que traiter les symptômes. Par contre, l’immunothérapie a le pouvoir de modifier le cours naturel de la maladie allergique. En raison des risques élevés d’anaphylaxie, elle n’est pas couramment utilisée pour traiter les allergies alimentaires. À l’heure actuelle, il existe deux types d’immunothérapie : sous-cutanée et sublinguale. L’immunothérapie sous-cutanée implique de nombreuses injections directement sous la peau alors que la sublinguale comporte des gouttes ou des comprimés contre les allergies que l’on place sous la langue.

Contrairement à l’immunothérapie sous-cutanée utilisée contre les allergènes inhalés comme la poussière, le pollen et les moisissures, la nouvelle immunothérapie sublinguale, à l’étude à l’heure actuelle contre les allergènes alimentaires, est principalement administrée par le patient ou un intervenant. Parmi d’autres avantages, la méthode sublinguale comporte moins d’effets secondaires, nettement moins de risques d’anaphylaxie et des coûts moins élevés tout en produisant des résultats en quelques mois à peine. L’immunothérapie sublinguale semble en outre des plus prometteuses pour traiter les mêmes types d’allergie que la méthode sous-cutanée.

Ainsi, le traitement pour les allergies alimentaires se fera en général une fois par jour en augmentant progressivement la dose jusqu’à atteindre une cible préétablie permettant, on l’espère, d’arriver à un seuil de tolérance et normaliser l’alimentation du patient. À tout le moins, ceci devrait lui offrir une protection suffisante contre l’anaphylaxie lors d’expositions accidentelles mineures. Compte tenu de tous les avantages par rapport à l’immunothérapie sous-cutanée, et surtout par rapport aux traitements conventionnels, il est difficile de croire qu’on ait pas souvent recours à l’immunothérapie sublinguale. En réalité, cela fait plus de 60 ans qu’on utilise des gouttes contre les allergies partout dans le monde et nombre d’études attestent de leur innocuité et de leur efficacité. L’Organisation mondiale de la santé (OMH) appuie l’immunothérapie sublinguale en tant qu’alternative viable à la thérapie par injections. La Collaboration Cochrane, l’organisation internationale la plus réputée en matière de revue d’interventions en soins de santé, a dernièrement conclu que l’immunothérapie réduit de manière significative les symtômes allergiques ainsi que l’utilisation des médicaments antiallergiques.

Ce mode de traitement est de plus en plus accepté dans le monde et de plus en plus étudié en fonction des allergènes alimentaires, principalement le lait, les oeufs, l’arachide et les noisettes. En se fondant sur cette fascinante recherche, des pédiatres allergologues d’Edmonton ont commencé à offrir une désensibilisation au lait à quelques patients choisis et envisagent le faire pour les oeufs et l’arachide dans un avenir prévisible. Les Drs Carr, Lidman, et Vander Leek sont tous optimistes et croient que cette approche novatrice des allergies alimentaires transformera la vie des patients hypersensibles aux prises avec des allergies persistantes.

Note de la rédaction : Il faut faire une distinction entre l’immunothérapie sublinguale décrite dans cet article, aussi désignée « par voie orale », et une technique non éprouvée et controversée beaucoup utilisée il y a quelques décennies et moins maintenant, connue sous les appellations « test de provocation-neutralisation » et « désensibilisation sublinguale ».

Info asthme allergies, numéro 2 2008

return Retour à la section de l'information sur l'anaphylaxie

| Politique de confidentialité | Contactez-nous | © AIAA, 2017
Site Web maintenu par Konecny Consulting Inc.