Allergy/Asthma Information Association

Towards "Certified Allergen Control"!

by Claire Dufresne, Executive director, Association québécoise des allergies alimentaires

AQAA logo

Editor's Note: The AQAA is a non-profit association founded in 1990 by a group of Quebec parents with food allergic children. Its mission is to offer support and information, promote education and prevention and encourage research into food allergies and anaphylaxis. The AAIA congratulates the AQAA for the work they have done on this innovative certification programme, which we have agreed to support.

The biggest challenge for food allergic people is to be able to purchase food products with a total peace of mind.

A recent Quebec study has revealed that 29% of allergic consumers will pay attention to allergen substances every time they go grocery shopping!

Another study, sponsored by a multinational food company in 2001, confirmed that more than half of Quebec consumers are likely to modify their consuming habits, at one point or another, because they know one or more persons who are allergic to peanuts or nuts!

However, with no known official certification process, many companies prefer not to take any chances and will indicate on their packaging that the product "may contain traces of peanuts... or other allergens", even if, in reality, the risks are unknown. Allergic consumers are then deprived of many products. Even more worrisome, those same allergic people interpret these increasingly popular warnings as a way for the companies to protect themselves from potential lawsuits. More and more, the warning signs are considered commonplace and allergic consumers are brought to overlook them and will use products that they should logically avoid.

For the past two years, AQAA has worked on developing an original and ambitious project for the overall Canadian food industry, a Certification Programme for Optimal Control of Allergens in Processed Food.

The primary objective is to work on the allergens affecting the most people such as peanuts, almonds, eggs and milk proteins.

The Certification Programme principle is based on a voluntary process from the companies. A mark of conformity on the certified products will guarantee consumers that the best possible allergen control criteria, defined by the AQAA certification model, have been respected.

Companies interested in the Certification Programme will have to follow rigorous control and analysis measures and accept, by contract, the conditions for using the mark of conformity.

In a situation where about 7% of Quebec families have at least one person with one or more food allergies, the "Certified Allergen Control" mark of conformity will appear as a powerful marketing tool for food products.

Managing the use of the mark of conformity will be based on specifications elaborated in cooperation, among others, with representatives from volunteer companies, Health Canada, the Canadian Food Inspection Agency and the Bureau de normalisation du Québec (member of the Standards Council of Canada).

A team from AQAA will be in charge of managing the Certification Programme. Control visits will be assigned to an external auditor, the Bureau de normalisation du Québec. In fact, the certified food products will show the mark of conformity with a notification for the allergen from which they are specifically controlled.

The Certification Programme for Optimal Control of Allergens in Processed Food has been officially announced and several products have been certified. Watch for the Logo!

from Allergy & Asthma News, Issue 1 2005

return Return to the Information about Anaphylaxis section

| Privacy Policy | Contact Us | © AAIA, 2017
Web site maintained by Konecny Consulting Inc.

Association d'information sur l'allergie et l'asthme

En route pour le « Contrôle Allergène Certifié »

Claire Dufresne, Directrice générale, Association québécoise des allergies alimentaires

AQAA logo

Note de la rédaction : L’Association québécoise des allergies alimentaires (AQAA), un organisme sans but lucratif, a été fondée en 1990 par les parents d’enfants atteints d’allergies alimentaires. Elle a pour mission d’offrir du soutien et de l’information, de promouvoir l’éducation et la prévention ainsi que d’encourager la recherche sur les allergies alimentaires et l’anaphylaxie. L’AIAA appuie l’AQAA et la félicite chaleureusement pour son travail sur ce programme de certification inédit.

Un des plus grands défis auxquels font face les personnes affectées par une allergie alimentaire est de pouvoir acheter des aliments en toute tranquillité d’esprit.

Une étude québécoise a révélé que 29 % des consommateurs allergiques portent une attention aux substances allergènes chaque fois qu’ils font l’épicerie !

Une autre étude, commandée en 2001 par une multinationale de l’agroalimentaire, a confirmé que plus de la moitié des consommateurs québécois sont susceptibles, à un moment ou à un autre, de modifier leurs habitudes de consommation parce qu’ils connaissent une ou des personnes allergiques à l’arachide et aux noix !

Or, à défaut d’un système de certification reconnu, plusieurs entreprises préfèrent ne courir aucun risque en indiquant sur leurs emballages que le produit « peut contenir des traces d’arachide… ou d’autres allergènes » même si, dans la réalité, les risques sont inconnus. Les consommateurs allergiques sont donc privés d’une multitude de produits. Ce qui inquiète encore plus, c’est cette perception du consommateur allergique qui voit dans cette multiplication de mises en garde une façon pour les compagnies de se protéger d’éventuelles poursuites judiciaires. Cette réalité engendre une banalisation de ces mentions et pousse beaucoup de consommateurs allergiques à passer outre ces mises en garde et à consommer les produits qu’ils devraient, en toute logique, éviter.

Depuis deux ans, l’AQAA s’est activée à mettre sur pied un projet inédit et ambitieux : un Programme de certification d’aliments transformés avec contrôle optimal d’allergènes pour toute l’industrie alimentaire canadienne.

L’objectif est, dans un premier temps, de travailler sur les allergènes touchant le plus grand nombre de personnes comme les arachides, les amandes, les oeufs et les protéines laitières.

Le principe du Programme de certification repose sur une démarche volontaire des entreprises.  Une marque de conformité apparaissant sur les produits garantira aux consommateurs que toutes les précautions définies par le modèle de certification de l’AQAA ont été respectées.

Les compagnies qui voudront se prévaloir du Programme de certification devront se soumettre à des mesures rigoureuses  de contrôle et d’analyse et accepter, par contrat, les conditions d’utilisation de la marque de conformité.

Dans un contexte où environ 7 % des familles québécoises comptent au moins une personne avec une ou plusieurs allergies alimentaires, la marque de conformité « Contrôle Allergène Certifié », ou CAC, constituera un puissant outil de marketing pour les produits certifiés comme tels.

La gestion de la marque de conformité reposera sur un cahier de charges préparé en collaboration avec des entreprises volontaires, des représentants de Santé Canada, de l’Agence canadienne d’inspection des aliments et du Bureau de normalisation du Québec, qui est membre du Conseil canadien des normes.

Une équipe de l’AQAA sera chargée de l’administration du Programme de certification. Les audits seront effectués par des vérificateurs professionnels du Bureau de normalisation du Québec. Concrètement, le produit certifié arborera une marque de conformité assortie de la mention de l’allergène pour lequel il sera contrôlé.

Le Programme de certification pour aliments transformés avec contrôle optimal d’allergènes a été annoncé officiellement et a été commercialisé en 2005.

Info asthme allergies, numéro 2 2005

return Retour à la section de l'information sur l'anaphylaxie

| Politique de confidentialité | Contactez-nous | © AIAA, 2016
Site Web maintenu par Konecny Consulting Inc.